Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources

#citations #citing #references

Books - Format & Examples

Use this format for print books.

  • One author
  • Multiple authors (two)
  • Multiple authors (more than two)
  • Edited book - complete work. See Chapter in a Book for portions of a work.

1NOTE: For APA citations that have multiple authors, cite all authors in your citation if there are 20 authors or less. For 21 or more authors, cite the first 19 authors, include an ellipses, and the final author's name.

2NOTE: For Turabian citations that have more than three authors, cite using First Author Last Name, First Author First Name et al. in the author portion of the citation.

ONE AUTHOR

APA (7th) General Format Author Last Name, Author Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Publisher.
APA (7th) Example Zusak, M. (2006). The book thief. Knopf.
MLA (9th) General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, year.
MLA (9th) Example Zusak, Markus. The Book Thief. Knopf, 2006.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Zusak, Markus. The Book Thief. New York: Knopf, 2006.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Zusak, Markus. 2006. The Book Thief. New York: Knopf.

 

BOOK BY TWO AUTHORS

APA (7th) General Format First Author Last Name, First Author Initials, & Second Author Last Name, Second Author Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Publisher.
APA (7th) Example Mazur, D., & Danner, A. (2014) Comics: A global history, 1968 to the present. Thames & Hudson
MLA (9th) General Format First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
MLA (9th) Example Mazur, Dan, and Alexander Danner. Comics: A Global History, 1968 to the Present. Thames & Hudson, 2014.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Mazur, Dan, and Alexander Danner. Comics: A Global History, 1968 to the Present. London: Thames & Hudson, 2009.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Mazur, Dan, and Alexander Danner. 2009. Comics: A Global History, 1968 to the Present. London: Thames & Hudson, 2009.

 

BOOK BY MULTIPLE AUTHORS (more than two)

APA (7th) General Format1 First Author Last Name, First Author Initials, Second Author Last Name, Second Author Initials,  Third Author Last Name, Third Author Initials, & Fourth Author Last Name, Fourth Author Initials. (Year). Title of Book. Publisher.
APA (7th) Example1 Bell, I. McGrane, B., Gunderson, J., & Anderson, T. L. (2011). This book is not required: An emotional and intellectual survival manual for students. Sage.
MLA (9th) General Format First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, et al. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.
MLA (9th) Example Bell, Inge, et al. This Book is Not Required: An Emotional and Intellectual Survival Manual for Students. 4th ed. Sage, 2011.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format2 First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, Second Author First Name Last Name, and Third Author First Name Last Name.Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example2 Bell, Inge, Bernard McGrane, John Gunderson, and Terri L. Anderson. This Book is Not Required: An Emotional and Intellectual Survival Manual for Students. 4th ed. Los Angeles: Sage, 2011.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format2 First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, Second Author First Name Last Name, and Third Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example2 Bell, Inge, Bernard McGrane, John Gunderson, and Terri L. Anderson. 2011. This Book is Not Required: An Emotional and Intellectual Survival Manual for Students. 4th ed. Los Angeles: Sage.

 

EDITED BOOK - Complete Work

APA (7th) General Format Editor Last Name, Editor Initials (Ed.) (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Publisher.
APA (7th) Example Dawidowicz, L. S. (Ed.). (1976). A Holocaust reader. Behrman House.
MLA (9th) General Format Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, editor. Title of Book. Publisher, year.
MLA (9th) Example Dawidowicz, Lucy S., editor. A Holocaust Reader. Behrman House, 1976.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, ed. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Dawidowicz, Lucy S., ed. A Holocaust Reader. New York: Behrman House, 1976.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, ed. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Dawidowicz, Lucy S., ed. 1976. A Holocaust Reader. New York: Behrman House.

Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432