Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources

#citations #citing #references

Articles in Databases - Format & Examples

 

Use this format for full-text articles found in databases like Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, PsycARTICLES, etc.

JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE

APA (7th) General Format Author Last Name, Author Initials. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue). firstpage-lastpage. DOI or URL
APA (7th) Example Adams, J. (2010). Into eternity's certain breadth: Ambivalent escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief. Children's Literature in Education 41(3), 123-146. doi:10.1007/s10583-010-9111-2
MLA (9th) General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, pp. firstpage-lastpage. Name of Database, DOI or URL.
MLA (9th) Example Adams, Jenni. "'Into Eternity's Certain Breadth': Ambivalent Escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief." Children's Literature in Education, vol. 41, no. 3, 2010, pp. 123-146. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=52471149&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month Year): firstpage-lastpage. Permalink.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Adams, Jenni. "Into Eternity's Certain Breadth: Ambivalent Escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief." Children's Literature in Education 41, no. 3 (2010): 123-146. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=52471149&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format  Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month or Season): firstpage-lastpage. Permalink.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Adams, Jenni. 2010. "Into Eternity's Certain Breadth: Ambivalent Escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief." Children's Literature in Education 41, no. 3 (September): 123-146. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=52471149&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

 

 

MAGAZINE ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE

APA (7th) General Format Author Last Name, Author Initials. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of the Magazine, volume#, firstpage-lastpage.  DOI or URL
APA (7th) Example Biedenham, I. (2016, March 4). Markus Zusak. Entertainment Weekly, 1405, 63. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=113323582&site=ehost-live&scope=site
MLA (9th) General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Day Month Year of Publication, pp. firstpage-lastpage. Name of Database, permalink.
MLA (9th) Example Biedenham, Isabella. "Markus Zusak." Entertainment Weekly, 4 March 2016, p. 63. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=113323582&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, firstpage-lastpage. Permalink.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Biedenham, Isabella. "Markus Zusak." Entertainment Weekly, March 4, 2016, 63. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=38311783&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, firstpage-lastpage. Permalink.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Biedenham, Isabella. 2016. "Markus Zusak." Entertainment Weekly, March 4, 2016, 63. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=38311783&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE

APA (7th) General Format Author Last Name, Author Initials. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of the Newspaper, firstpage-lastpage. DOI or URL
APA (7th) Example Piepenburg, E. (2012, October 25). The Book Thief receives a new life on the stage. New York Times, C1. http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic
MLA (9th) General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year published, pp. firstpage-lastpage. Name of Database, permalink.
MLA (9th) Example Piepenburg, Erik. "'The Book Thief' Receives a New Life on the Stage." New York Times, 25 October 2012, p. C1. LexisNexis Academic, http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication. URL.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Piepenburg, Erik. "The Book Thief Receives a New Life on the Stage." New York Times, October 25, 2012. http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. URL.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Piepenburg, Erik. 2012. "The Book Thief Receives a New Life on the Stage." New York Times, October 25, 2012. http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic.

 


Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432