A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition
The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material.
Journal Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month Year): firstpage-lastpage. Permalink. |
| Example | Adams, Jenni. "Into Eternity's Certain Breadth: Ambivalent Escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief." Children's Literature in Education 41, no. 3 (2010): 123-146. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=52471149&site=ehost-live&scope=site. |
Magazine Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, firstpage-lastpage. Permalink. |
| Example | Biedenham, Isabella. "Markus Zusak." Entertainment Weekly, March 4, 2016, 63. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=113323582&site=ehost-live&scope=site. |
Newspaper Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication. URL. |
| Example | Piepenburg, Erik. "The Book Thief Receives a New Life on the Stage." New York Times, October 25, 2012. https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn%3acontentItem%3a56WP-RN51-JBG3-653C-00000-00&context=1519360&identityprofileid=9S2NJV55532. |
Article from a Print Journal
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (month year): firstpage-lastpage. |
| Example | Malasri, Siripong et al. "Water Absorption of Wooden Pallets." International Journal of Applied Science and Technology 2, no. 9 (November 2012): 1-10. |
Article from a Print Magazine
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of Publication, firstpage-lastpage. |
| Example | Denney, Pam. "Graduate Degree." Memphis, March 2017, 62-63. |
Article from a Print Newspaper
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. |
| Example | Young, Lesley. "Peace & Tofu: A Visit to Magnolia Grove Monastery." Memphis Flyer, June 15, 2017. |
Article from an Internet Journal
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month Year of Publication): firstpage-lastpage. Accessed Month Day, Year. DOI OR URL. |
| Example | Sagi-Schwartz, Abraham et al. "Against All Odds: Genocidal Trauma is Associated with Longer Life-Expectancy of the Survivors." PLoS One 8, no. 7 (July 2013): e69179. Accessed July 14, 2017. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0069179. |
Article from an Internet Magazine
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Lee, Paula Young. "The Power of Pop Literature: Why We Need Diverse YA Books More than Ever." Salon.com, September 30, 2016. Accessed July 14, 2017. http://www.salon.com/2016/09/30/the-power-of-pop-literature-why-we-need-diverse-ya-books-more-than-ever/. |
Article from the Website of a Newspaper
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Creagh, Sunanda. "Hope Amid the Flames." Sydney Morning Herald, September 24, 2005. Accessed July 14, 2017. http://www.smh.com.au/news/books/hope-amid-the-flames/2005/09/22/1126982166740.html. |
Book by One Author
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Zusak, Markus. The Book Thief. New York: Knopf, 2006. |
Book by Two Authors
| General Format | First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Mazur, Dan, and Alexander Danner. Comics: A Global History, 1968 to the Present. London: Thames & Hudson, 2009. |
Book by Three or More Authors
| General Format | First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, Second Author First Name Last Name, and Third Author First Name Last Name.Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Bell, Inge, Bernard McGrane, John Gunderson, and Terri L. Anderson. This Book is Not Required: An Emotional and Intellectual Survival Manual for Students. 4th ed. Los Angeles: Sage, 2011. |
Edited Book - Complete Work
| General Format | Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, ed. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Dawidowicz, Lucy S., ed. A Holocaust Reader. New York: Behrman House, 1976. |
Chapter in a Book
Use this format to cite a chapter or article in a book. An editor's name may or may not be available; if there is one, include it where noted in the General Format example.
| General Format | Chapter Author Last Name, Chapter Author First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, startingpage-endingpage. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Minslow, Sarah. "The Diary of a Young Girl and Children's Literature of Atrocity." In Critical Insights: The Diary of a Young Girl, 60-75. Ipswich, MA: Grey House, 2017. |
Graphic Novels - follow the citation pattern for books
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Spiegelman, Art. MAUS II: And Here My Troubles Began. New York: Pantheon, 1991. |
Comic Books
Comics can appear in many formats. Typically, the citation formats for collected editions follow the pattern for books; individual stories or chapters from a collected edition, the pattern for chapters; and individual issues, the pattern for periodicals insofar as they should include issue numbers.
It is the rare comic that has a single author; all examples below are for multiple authors.
Collected Edition
| General Format | Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes. New York: DC Comics, 1995. |
Chapter from a Collected Edition
| General Format | Chapter Author Last Name, Chapter Author First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, startingpage-endingpage. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. "The Sound of Her Wings." In Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes, edited by Karen Berger, 210-234. New York: DC Comics, 1995. |
Single Issue
| General Format | Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Comic Series, no. issue#. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. Sandman, no. 8. New York: DC Comics, 1989. |
Dissertations
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Dissertation." PhD diss., Name of Institution (no abbreviations), Year. |
| Example | Boerman-Cornell, William. "Learning to See History: A Content Analysis of the Affordances of Graphic Novels for High School Teaching." PhD diss., University of Illinois at Chicago, 2013. |
eBooks
Use this format for eBooks found on the web or in databases like EBSCO eBooks.
See the instructions for Books for how to cite edited works and works by two or more authors.
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publication place: Publisher, Year. Database. |
| Example |
Merryman, Molly. Clipped Wings: The Rise and Fall of the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPs) of World War II. New York: New York University Press, 2020. EBSCO eBooks. |
Print Encyclopedias - Entries
| General Format | Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Rosenkranz, Herbert. s.v. "Austria." In Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, edited by Israel Gutman, 126-132. London: MacMillan, 1989. |
Online Encyclopedias - Entries
| General Format | Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. |
| Example | Speace, Geri. s.v. "Maus." In St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, 501-502. Detroit: St. James Press, 2013. |
Chart or Graph from an Article in a Database
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue# (Year), page#. Name of Database. |
| Example | Ball, Robert, and Juan Pable Hourcade. "The Three Display Conditions Used in the Study." Chart. International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction 110, no. 4 (2011), 1072. Academic Search Ultimate. |
Illustration from an Article in a Database
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue# (Year), page#. Name of Database. |
| Example | Carpenter, Dave. "Literature." Illustration. Education Next 11, no. 4 (2011), 89. Academic OneFile. |
COPYRIGHT CONCERNS
Images--particularly photographs and illustrations--may be copyrighted: if so the copyright notice should accompany the image wherever you place it in your paper or presentation in addition to listing it in your bibliography. While you can use copyrighted material in the classroom without having to request permission, if you put your paper or presentation on the public web (such as, in a blog or on a personal website) you must have permission for any copyrighted material that you may have reproduced.
For further information see the Research Guide on Copyright.
Online Video
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Title of Video." Month Day, Year. Format, Video length. URL. |
| Example |
Magelsky, Kelly. "Tennessee: Memphis Mojo." 2012. Video, 25:51. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=145713. |
Film/Movie
| General Format | Title of Video. Directed by Director First Name Last Name. Name of Production Company, Year. Run time. Format. |
| Example | Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story. Directed by Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville. Tremolo Productions, Concord Music Group, and WNET. 2007. 1 hr., 54 min. DVD. |
Television or Radio Broadcast
| General Format | Title of Series. "Name of Episode." Directed by Director First Name Director Last Name. Aired Month Day, Year, on name of network. |
| Example | Civil War Journal. "Frederick Douglass." Directed by Craig Haffner. Aired April 6, 1993 on the Arts & Entertainment Network. |
Sound Recording
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Title of Piece. Conducted by Conductor First Name Conductor Last Name. Recorded with Orchestra Name, Month Day, Year of Recording. Label Label Code, date of release. Format. |
| Example | Beethoven, Ludwig van. Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 2 in B-flat major, op. 19 Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 4 in G major, op. 58. Conducted by George Szell. Recorded with Cleveland Orchestra. April 16, 1961 and January 10, 1959. Sony SBK 48165, 1992. CD. |
Blogs
Blogs can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 16.2.3), though you may chooses to treat them as articles from webpages.
Blog Postings
Blog postings can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 16.2.3), though you may chooses to treat them as articles from webpages.
Comments
Comments can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 16.2.3).
Tweets
Postings to social media can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 16.2.3).
Emails
| General Format | Cite emails in footnotes or in text (See Turabian 17.6.2). |
| Example |
In an email message from Coursera Staff on June 17, 2014 ... . OR 1. Coursera Staff, email message to author, June 17, 2014. |
These examples pertain to pages purely designed for publication on the Web. Online journal articles and eBooks are treated differently. See the tabs devoted to them for more details.
Webpage with an Author
| General Format | Author or Creator of Web Page. "Title of Web Page." Source of Web Page. Last modified Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Smith, Kevin. "Copyright Follies." Scholarly Communications @ Duke University. Last modified April 30, 2015. Accessed August 8, 2017. http://blogs.library.duke.edu/scholcomm/2015/04/30/copyright-follies/. |
Webpage with No Author
| General Format | Owner of Website. "Title of Web Page." Title or Owner of the Website. Month Day, Year of Publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Christian Brothers University. Plough Library. Christian Brothers University. Accessed September 21, 2021. https://www.cbu.edu/library. |
When using Turabian Notes-Bibliography Style, you should use footnotes or endnotes instead of in-text parenthetical citations.
Notes for Books
| General Format | Author First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page#. |
| Example | Markus Zusak, The Book Thief (New York: Knopf, 2006), 43. |
Notes for Journal Articles
| General Format | Author First Name Last Name, "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article," Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month Year): page#. |
| Example | Siripong Malasri et al. "Water Absorption of Wooden Pallets," International Journal of Applied Science and Technology 2, no. 9 (November 2012): 3. |
Journal Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month or Season): firstpage-lastpage. Permalink. |
| Example | Adams, Jenni. 2010. "Into Eternity's Certain Breadth: Ambivalent Escapes in Markus Zusak's The Book Thief." Children's Literature in Education 41, no. 3 (September): 123-146. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=52471149&site=ehost-live&scope=site. |
Magazine Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of the Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, firstpage-lastpage. Permalink. |
| Example | Biedenham, Isabella. 2016. "Markus Zusak." Entertainment Weekly, March 4, 2016, 63. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=113323582&site=ehost-live&scope=site. |
Newspaper Article from a Database
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. URL. |
| Example | Piepenburg, Erik. 2012. "The Book Thief Receives a New Life on the Stage." New York Times, October 25, 2012. https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn%3acontentItem%3a56WP-RN51-JBG3-653C-00000-00&context=1519360&identityprofileid=9S2NJV55532. |
Article from a Print Journal
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month): firstpage-lastpage. |
| Example | Malasri, Siripong et al. 2012. "Water Absorption of Wooden Pallets." International Journal of Applied Science and Technology 2, no. 9 (November): 1-10. |
Article from a Print Magazine
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of Publication, firstpage-lastpage. |
| Example | Denney, Pam. 2017. "Graduate Degree." Memphis, March 2017, 62-63. |
Article from a Print Newspaper
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. |
| Example | Young, Lesley. 2017. "Peace & Tofu: A Visit to Magnolia Grove Monastery." Memphis Flyer, June 15, 2017. |
Article from an Internet Journal
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume#, no. issue# (Month): firstpage-lastpage. Accessed Month Day, Year. DOI or URL. |
| Example | Sagi-Schwartz, Abraham et al. 2013. "Against All Odds: Genocidal Trauma is Associated with Longer Life-Expectancy of the Survivors." PLoS One 8, no. 7 (July): e69179. Accessed July 14, 2017. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0069179. |
Article from an Internet Magazine
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine. Month Day, Year of Publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Lee, Paula Young. 2016. "The Power of Pop Literature: Why We Need Diverse YA Books More than Ever." Salon.com, September 30, 2016. Accessed July 14, 2017. http://www.salon.com/2016/09/30/the-power-of-pop-literature-why-we-need-diverse-ya-books-more-than-ever/. |
Article from the Website of a Newspaper
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Creagh, Sunanda. 2005. "Hope Amid the Flames." Sydney Morning Herald, September 24, 2005. Accessed July 14, 2017. http://www.smh.com.au/news/books/hope-amid-the-flames/2005/09/22/1126982166740.html. |
Book by One Author
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Zusak, Markus. 2006. The Book Thief. New York: Knopf. |
Book by Two Authors
| General Format | First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, and Second Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Mazur, Dan, and Alexander Danner. 2009. Comics: A Global History, 1968 to the Present. London: Thames & Hudson, 2009. |
Book by Three or More Authors
| General Format | First Author Last Name, First Author First Name, Second Author First Name Last Name, and Third Author First Name Last Name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Bell, Inge, Bernard McGrane, John Gunderson, and Terri L. Anderson. 2011. This Book is Not Required: An Emotional and Intellectual Survival Manual for Students. 4th ed. Los Angeles: Sage. |
Edited Book - Complete Work
| General Format | Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, ed. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Dawidowicz, Lucy S., ed. 1976. A Holocaust Reader. New York: Behrman House. |
Chapter in a Book
Use this format to cite a chapter or article in a book. An editor's name may or may not be available; if there is one, include it where noted in the General Format examples.
| General Format | Chapter Author Last Name, Chapter Author First Name. Year. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, startingpage-endingpage. Place of publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Minslow, Sarah. 2017. "The Diary of a Young Girl and Children's Literature of Atrocity." In Critical Insights: The Diary of a Young Girl, 60-75. Ipswich, MA: Grey House. |
Graphic Novels - follow the citation pattern for books
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Spiegelman, Art. 1991. MAUS II: And Here My Troubles Began. New York: Pantheon. |
Comic Books
Comics can appear in many formats. Typically, the citation formats for collected editions follow the pattern for books; individual stories or chapters from a collected edition, the pattern for chapters; and individual issues, the pattern for periodicals insofar as they should include issue numbers.
It is the rare comic that has a single author; all examples below are for multiple authors.
Collected Edition
| General Format | Author Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. 1995. Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes. New York: DC Comics. |
Chapter from a Collected Edition
| General Format | Chapter Author Last Name, Chapter Author First Name. Year. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, startingpage-endingpage. Place of publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Mike Drigenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. 1995. "The Sound of Her Wings." In Sandman: Preludes & Nocturnes, edited by Karen Berger, 210-234. New York: DC Comics. |
Single Issue
| General Format | Author Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of Comic Series, no. issue#. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Gaiman, Neil, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III. 1989. Sandman, no. 8. New York: DC Comics. |
Dissertations
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. "Title of Dissertation." PhD diss., Name of Institution (no abbreviations). |
| Example | Boerman-Cornell, William. 2013. "Learning to See History: A Content Analysis of the Affordances of Graphic Novels for High School Teaching." PhD diss., University of Illinois at Chicago. |
eBooks
Use this format for eBooks found on the web or in databases like EBSCO eBooks.
See the instructions for Books for how to cite edited works and works by two or more authors.
| General Format | Author Last Name, Author First Name. Year. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publication place: Publisher. Database. |
| Example |
Merryman, Molly. 2020. Clipped Wings: The Rise and Fall of the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPs) of World War II. New York: New York University Press. EBSCO eBooks. |
Print Encyclopedias - Entries
| General Format | Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. Year. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Rosenkranz, Herbert. 1989. s.v. "Austria." In Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, edited by Israel Gutman, 126-132. London: MacMillan. |
Online Encyclopedias - Entries
| General Format | Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. Year. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher. |
| Example | Speace, Geri. 2013. s.v. "Maus." In St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, 501-502. Detroit: St. James Press. |
Chart or Graph from an Article in a Database
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue#, page#. Name of Database. |
| Example | Ball, Robert, and Juan Pable Hourcade. 2011. "The Three Display Conditions Used in the Study." Chart. International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction 110, no. 4, 1072. Academic Search Ultimate. |
Illustration from an Article in a Database
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue#, page#. Name of Database. |
| Example | Carpenter, Dave. 2011. "Literature." Illustration. Education Next 11, no. 4, 89. Academic OneFile. |
COPYRIGHT CONCERNS
Images--particularly photographs and illustrations--may be copyrighted: if so the copyright notice should accompany the image wherever you place it in your paper or presentation in addition to listing it in your bibliography. While you can use copyrighted material in the classroom without having to request permission, if you put your paper or presentation on the public web (such as, in a blog or on a personal website) you must have permission for any copyrighted material that you may have reproduced.
For further information see the Research Guide on Copyright.
Online Video
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Title of Video." Month Day, Year. Format, Video length. URL. |
| Example |
Magelsky, Kelly. 2012. "Tennessee: Memphis Mojo." 2012. Video, 25:51. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=145713. |
Film/Movie
| General Format | Director Last Name, Director First Name, director. Year. Title of Video. Name of Production Company. Run time. Format. |
| Example | Gordon, Robert, and Morgan Neville, directors. 2007. Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story. Tremolo Productions, Concord Music Group, and WNET. 1 hr., 54 min. DVD. |
Television or Radio Broadcast
| General Format | Title of Series. Year. "Name of Episode." Directed by Director First Name Director Last Name. Aired Month Day, Year, on name of network. |
| Example | Civil War Journal. 1993. "Frederick Douglass." Directed by Craig Haffner. Aired April 6, 1993 on the Arts & Entertainment Network. |
Sound Recording
| General Format | Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year of Recording. Title of Piece. Conducted by Conductor First Name Conductor Last Name. Recorded with Orchestra Name, Month Day, Year of Recording. Label Label Code, Publication Year. Format. |
| Example | Beethoven, Ludwig van. 1961 and 1959. Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 2 in B-flat major, op. 19 Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 4 in G major, op. 58. Conducted by George Szell. Recorded with Cleveland Orchestra. Sony SBK 48165, 1992. CD. |
Blogs
Blogs can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 18.2.2), though you may chooses to treat them as articles from webpages.
Blog Postings
Blog postings can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 18.2.2), though you may chooses to treat them as articles from webpages.
Comments
Comments can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 18.2.2).
Tweets
Postings to social media can be omitted from Bibliographies (see Turabian 18.2.2).
Emails
| General Format | Cite emails in text or in parenthetical citations (See Turabian 19.6.2). |
| Example |
In an email message from Coursera Staff on June 17, 2014 ... . OR (Coursera Staff, email message to author, June 17, 2014). |
These examples pertain to pages purely designed for publication on the Web. Online journal articles and eBooks are treated differently. See the tabs devoted to them for more details.
Webpage with an Author
| General Format | Author or Creator of Web Page. Year Published. "Title of Web Page." Source of Web Page. Last modified Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Smith, Kevin. "Copyright Follies." 2015. Scholarly Communications @ Duke University. Last modified April 30, 2015. Accessed August 8. 2017. http://blogs.library.duke.edu/scholcomm/2015/04/30/copyright-follies/. |
Webpage with No Author
| General Format | Owner of Website. Year Published. "Title of Web Page." Title or Owner of the Website. Month Day, Year of Publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL. |
| Example | Christian Brothers University. 2021. Plough Library. Christian Brothers University. Accessed September 21, 2021. https://www.cbu.edu/library. |
Basic Reference
| General Format | Give the (Author Lastname year of publication, page#). |
| Example | Studies have found that "marriages in which the parents share responsibilities tend to be the happiest" (Levine 1976, 222). |
Author's Name in Text
| General Format | Give the (Year, page#). |
| Example | According to Levine, parents who share responsibilities tend to have the happiest marriages (1976, 222). |
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432
