Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources

#citations #citing #references

Images

 

Chart or Graph from an Article in a Database

APA (7th) General Format Creator Last Name, Creator Initial[s]. (Year). Name of image [Image type]. Source of Image, volume#(issue#), page#. DOI or URL
APA (7th) Example Ball, R. and Hourcade, J. P. (2011). The three display conditions used in the study [Chart]. International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction, 27(11), 1072. 
MLA (9th) General Format Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Name of Image." Source of Image, vol. #, no. #, Year, p. #. Name of Database. URL. 
MLA (9th) Example Ball, Robert, and Juan Pablo Hourcade. "The Three Display Conditions Used in the Study." International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction, vol. 27, no. 11, 2011, p.1072. Academic Search Ultimatesearch.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=66285592&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue# (Year), page#. Name of Database.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Ball, Robert, and Juan Pable Hourcade. "The Three Display Conditions Used in the Study." Chart. International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction 110, no. 4 (2011), 1072. Academic Search Ultimate.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue#, page#. Name of Database.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Ball, Robert, and Juan Pable Hourcade. 2011. "The Three Display Conditions Used in the Study." Chart. International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction 110, no. 4, 1072. Academic Search Ultimate.

 

Illustration from an Article in a Database

APA (7th) General Format Creator Last Name, Creator Initial[s]. (Year). Name of image [Image type]. Source of Image, volume#(issue#), page#.  DOI or URL
APA (7th) Example Carpenter, D. (2011). Literature [Illustration]. Education Next, 11(4), 89.
MLA (9th) General Format "Name of Image." Source of Image, vol. #, no. #, Year, p.#. Name of Database. URL. 
MLA (9th) Example

"Literature." Education Next,  vol. 11, no. 4, 2011, p. 89. Academic Onefilelink.gale.com/apps/doc/A267524319/AONE?u=tel_a_cbu&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=f887fb03

Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue# (Year), page#. Name of Database. 
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Carpenter, Dave. "Literature." Illustration. Education Next 11, no. 4 (2011), 89. Academic OneFile.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Name of Image." Image type. Source of Image volume#, no. issue#, page#. Name of Database. 
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Carpenter, Dave. 2011. "Literature." Illustration. Education Next 11, no. 4, 89. Academic OneFile.

Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432