Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources

#citations #citing #references

Print Encyclopedias - Entries

APA (7th) General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author Initials, & Additional Entry Author[s] First Name, Additional Author[s] Last Name. (Year). Entry name. In Editor Initials Editor Last Name (Ed.), Title of reference work (Vol. #, pp. firstpage-lastpage). Publisher.
APA (7th) Example Rosenkranz, H. (1990). Austria. In I.Gutman (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (Vol. 1, pp. 126-132). MacMillan.
MLA (9th) General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name, et al. "Title of Entry." Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, vol. #, Publisher, Year, pp. firstpage-lastpage.
MLA (9th) Example Rosenkranz, Herbert. "Austria." Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, edited by Israel Gutman, vol. 1, MacMillan, 1989, pp.126-132.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Rosenkranz, Herbert. s.v. "Austria." In Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, edited by Israel Gutman, 126-132. London: MacMillan, 1989.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. Year. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Rosenkranz, Herbert. 1989. s.v. "Austria." In Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, edited by Israel Gutman, 126-132. London: MacMillan.

Online Encyclopedias - Entries

APA (7th) General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author Initials, & Additional Entry Author[s] Last Name, Additional Author[s] Initials. (Year). Entry name. In Editor Initials Editor Last Name (Ed.), Title of reference work (Volume, firstpage-lastpage). Publisher. URL
APA (7th) Example Speace, G. (2013). Maus. In T. Riggs (Ed.), St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (Vol.  3, pp. 501-502). St. James Press. go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=tel_a_cbu&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX2735801775&asid=6c0eff02a29692d296826b6ecbd5f2ca
MLA (9th) General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name, et al. "Title of Entry." Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, pp. #-#. Name of Database. URL.
MLA (9th) Example Speace, Geri. "Maus." St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed. vol. 3, St. James Press, 2013, pp. 501-502. Gale Virtual Reference Library. go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=tel_a_cbu&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX2735801775&asid=6c0eff02a29692d296826b6ecbd5f2ca.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example Speace, Geri. s.v. "Maus." In St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, 501-502. Detroit: St. James Press, 2013.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format Entry Author Last Name, Entry Author First Name. Year. s.v. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Work, edited by Editor First Name Editor Last Name, firstpage-lastpage. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example Speace, Geri. 2013. s.v. "Maus." In St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, edited by Thomas Riggs, 501-502. Detroit: St. James Press.

Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432