Research Guides: Citing Sources: Multimedia

Multimedia - Format & Examples

Use this format to cite multimedia sources from video, audio, etc.

CITING AN ONLINE VIDEO
APA (7th) General Format	Name of Creator[s] (Role of Creator). (Year). Title of video [format]. URL
APA (7th) Example	National Archives & Records Administration (Producer). (2008). The big picture: Operation friendly hand [streaming video]. http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=45288
MLA (9th) General Format	Title of Video. Directed by First Name Last Name of director. Publisher, year, permalink. Accessed Day Month Year.
MLA (9th) Example	The Big Picture: Operation Friendly Hand. Films Media Group, 2008. fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=45288.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. "Title of Video." Month Day, Year. Format, Video length. URL.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example	National Archives & Records Administration. "The Big Picture: Operation Friendly Hand." 2008. Video, 27:57. http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=45288.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year. "Title of Video." Month Day, Year. Format, Video length. URL.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example	National Archives & Records Administration. 2008."The Big Picture: Operation Friendly Hand." 2008. Video, 27:57. http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=45288.
ACM Style General Format	[Note#] Creator First Name Last Name. Year. Title of video. Video. (Day Month Year). Retrieved Day Month Year from URL
ACM Style Example	[1] National Archives & Records Administration. 2008. The big picture: Operation friendly hand. Video. (2008). Retrieved September 14, 2023 from http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=104145&xtid=45288

CITING A DVD
APA (7th) General Format	Name of Creator[s] (Role of Creator). (Year). Title of video [format]. Production Company.
APA (7th) Example	Tremolo Production, Concord Music Group, & WNET (Producers). (2007). Respect yourself: The Stax records story [DVD]. WNET.
MLA (9th) General Format	Title of Video. Directed by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year. DVD.
MLA (9th) Example	Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story. Directed by Robert Gordon et al., Tremolo Productions et al., 2007. DVD.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format	Title of Video. Directed by Director First Name Last Name. Name of Production Company, Year. Run time. Format.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example	Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story. Directed by Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville. Tremolo Productions, Concord Music Group, and WNET. 2007. 1 hr., 54 min. DVD.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format	Director Last Name, Director First Name, director. Year. Title of Video. Name of Production Company. Run time. Format.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example	Gordon, Robert, and Morgan Neville, directors. 2007. Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story. Tremolo Productions, Concord Music Group, and WNET. 1 hr., 54 min. DVD.

CITING A TELEVISION OR RADIO BROADCAST

APA (7th) General Format

Creator Last Name, Creator Initials (Role of Creator). (Year of broadcast). Title of episode [Television series episode]. In Initial Last name (Executive producer), Title of series. Network.

APA (7th) Example

Haffner, C. (Director). (1993). Frederick Douglass [Television series episode]. In S. Paddor (Producer), Civil War journal. Arts and Entertainment Network.

MLA (9th) General Format

"Title of Episode." Title of Program or Series, hosted by Host First Name Last Name, Network, if applicable. Call letters, ;Local city, if applicable. Day Month Year of broadcast.

MLA (9th) Example

"Frederick Douglass." Civil War Journal. Arts and Entertainment Network. 6 Apr. 1993.

Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format

Title of Series. "Name of Episode." Directed by Director First Name Director Last Name. Aired Month Day, Year, on name of network.

Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example

Civil War Journal. "Frederick Douglass." Directed by Craig Haffner. Aired April 6, 1993 on the Arts & Entertainment Network.

Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format

Title of Series. Year. "Name of Episode." Directed by Director First Name Director Last Name. Aired Month Day, Year, on name of network.

Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example

Civil War Journal. "Frederick Douglass." Directed by Craig Haffner. Aired April 6, 1993 on the Arts & Entertainment Network.

CITING A SOUND RECORDING
APA (7th) General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator Initials. (Copyright Year). Title of piece [Medium of recording]. [Recorded by Artist Initial Artist Last Name]. Label. (Date of recording year if different from copyright).
APA (7th) Example	Beethoven, L. (1992). Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 2 in B-flat major, op. 19: Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 4 in G major, op. 58 [CD]. [Recorded by L. Fleisher, G. Szell, G., & the Cleveland Orchestra]. Sony Classical. (1959, 1961).
MLA (9th) General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Title of Piece. Performance by Performer First Name Performer Last Name, conducted by Conductor First Name Conductor Last Name. Recorded Day Month Year of recording. Label name, date of release.
MLA (9th) Example	Beethoven, Ludwig van. Concerto for Piano & Orchestra No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: Concerto for Piano & Orchestra No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58. Performance by Leon Fleisher and the Cleveland Orchestra, conducted by George Szell. Recorded 16 April 1961 and 10 Jan 1959. Sony Classical, 1992.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Title of Piece. Conducted by Conductor First Name Conductor Last Name. Recorded with Orchestra Name, Month Day, Year of Recording. Label Label Code, date of release. Format.
Turabian (9th) Notes-Bibliography Style Example	Beethoven, Ludwig van. Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 2 in B-flat major, op. 19 Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 4 in G major, op. 58. Conducted by George Szell. Recorded with Cleveland Orchestra. April 16, 1961 and January 10, 1959. Sony SBK 48165, 1992. CD.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style General Format	Creator Last Name, Creator First Name. Year of Recording. Title of Piece. Conducted by Conductor First Name Conductor Last Name. Recorded with Orchestra Name, Month Day, Year of Recording. Label Label Code, Publication Year. Format.
Turabian (9th) Author-Date Style Example	Beethoven, Ludwig van. 1961 and 1959. Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 2 in B-flat major, op. 19 Concerto for piano & orchestra no. 4 in G major, op. 58. Conducted by George Szell. Recorded with Cleveland Orchestra. Sony SBK 48165, 1992. CD.