Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Home

BEST BET!

SciTech Premium Collection
Contains thousands of full-text titles covering natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video, and more. Dates: 1946 - present.

Introductory Material

AccessScience Topic Page: Biology
Get definitions of terms related to biology and biomedicine.
Credo Reference: Biology
Get an overview and definitions of terms. Explore related concepts.

Other Key Resources

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate from EBSCO offers academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Knovel
Over 100 eBooks in biochemistry, biology and microbiology, and biotechnology are included in our Knovel collections of online reference works.
Help Pages:
- Support Center

Free Indexes (some full text available)

BioMed Central Journals
Search 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals on science, technology, and medicine. The journals span all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.

BHL: Biodiversity Heritage Library
Open access index to biodiversity literature.
NCBI databases (Entrez)
Simultaneously searches all the databases of the National Center for Biotechnology Information. Includes health, medicine, genes, genomes, proteins, and chemistry.
PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers.

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates: early 1800s - present.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Science.gov
Provides access to millions
of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.

Featured Resource - bi0Rxiv

bioRxiv.org

Find preprints in all areas of biology: biochemistry, bioengineering, biophysics, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, genetics, genomics, microbiology, molecular biology, plant biology, zoology, and more. Sponsored by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Be aware: these preprints are not peer- reviewed or edited. They are screened for non-scientific work and checked for plagiarism. See the site's description for more details.

After a preprint has been accepted for publication, a link to the journal will be added to the record.

Biological Sciences

Search the Library

Study Rooms

Junior Biology Seminar

Featured Resource - NATURE

Subject Librarian

Related Subject Guides

BEST BET!

Introductory Material

Other Key Resources

Featured Resource - bi0Rxiv