ABCs of Microbiology by
(EBSCO eBook) This book contains over 1200 multiple choice questions based on biochemistry, environmental microbiology, microbial genetics, general microbiology, cell biology, industrial microbiology, immunology and mycology. As most modern evaluations in science are based on multiple choice questions, this book provides a valuable resource for those studying microbiology and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
(Credo eBook) The Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. This range attracts a growing number of cross-disciplinary studies, which the encyclopedia makes available to readers from diverse educational backgrounds. The new edition builds on the solid foundation established in earlier versions, adding new material that reflects recent advances in the field. New focus areas include `Animal and Plant Microbiomes' and 'Global Impact of Microbes`. The thematic organization of the work allows users to focus on specific areas, e.g., for didactical purposes, while also browsing for topics in different areas.
An Introduction to Microorganisms by
(EBSCO eBook) Microorganisms include bacteria, actinomycetes, yeasts, molds, and viruses, among which bacteria are the most prevalent in nature, accounting for 90%-95% of microorganisms. The book is arranged in six sections, including (i) quantitative optical microscopy in microbiology, (ii) introduction to important yeast genera in food biotechnology, (iii) nitrogen fixation and plant growth promotion by rhizobia with major emphasis on soybeans in Asia, (iv) endophytic fungus Piriformospora indica and its interaction with horticultural plants, (v) biodiversity of arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi in tropical Indonesia, and (vi) root rot and continuous cropping obstacles.
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
(Access Medicine) Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions
Manual of Environmental Microbiology by
(Knovel eBook) The Manual of Environmental Microbiology, Fourth Edition, provides comprehensive coverage of this critical and growing field. Thoroughly updated and revised, the Manual is the definitive reference for information on microbes in air, water, and soil and their impact on human health and welfare. Written in accessible, clear prose, the manual covers four broad areas: general methodologies, environmental public health microbiology, microbial ecology, and biodegradation and biotransformation.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Sixteenth Edition by
(Access Medicine) Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology delivers a high-yield review of the most important aspects of the topic in a concise yet comprehensive style. It explores both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach.
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2023! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, this renowned text has helped readers develop a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Now, with a NEW four-color design, the book is shorter and more assessable for students! Outstanding pedagogical elements are carried throughout this edition including: Over 400 outstanding images with hundreds of tables and illustrations Detailed legends under the art so the reader can better understand what's occurring within the illustration, without having to flip back to the text Clinical Cases with USMLE Style Questions Margin Notes identifying the "high-yield" must know content in each chapter Bulleted Summaries that conclude each chapter Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition is divided into five parts: Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. Features and Learning Aids: 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases (plus one online only chapter) Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical case with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases Numerous full-color photographs, tables, and illustrations Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Chapter-ending case questions PLUS a collection of 100 practice questions Innovative study aids including boxed narrative Overviews that open each disease-oriented chapter or major section, highlighted Margin Notes pointing out high-yield material for USMLE Step 1 preparation, bulleted lists of Key Conclusions at the end of each major section, a THINK ➔ APPLY feature that randomly inserts thought-provoking questions into the body of the text, and more. A set of tables that presents the microbes in context of the clinical infections they produce
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432