Find books, articles, and more in
WorldCat Discovery:
Birds of the South by
(EBSCO eBook) The late Charlotte Hilton Green was an early and influential champion of the Tar Heel state's natural environment, and her popular weekly column, 'Out-of-Doors in Carolina,' appeared in the Raleigh News and Observer for forty-two years (1932-74). A classic in the field of popular nature writing, Birds of the South was originally published by UNC Press in 1933, preceding by a year Roger Tory Peterson's landmark volume, A Field Guide to the Birds. In this engaging collection of her early newspaper columns, Green details more than sixty varieties of birds common to southern gardens, fields, and woods. Quotations, poems, and anecdotes complement the descriptions of each species and help to make the book accessible even to novice nature lovers.
Mammals of the Southeastern United States by
(EBSCO eBook) The southeastern United States is home to a remarkable and diverse mammalian fauna that is a significant part of the region's rich natural heritage. Mammals of the Southeastern United States presents accounts of 137 species that currently or previously occurred in the Southeast. Although accessible and useful for the generalist, this book provides an up-to-date compilation of basic knowledge about native and nonnative mammals of the region that is suitable for students of all ages and for professional mammalogists and biologists alike.
Mosquitoes of the Southeastern United States by
(EBSCO eBook) Mosquitoes of the Southeastern United States is a full-color, highly illustrated guide to the sixty-four known species of mosquitoes in eleven genera that populate the South--from the Gulf Coastal states to the Carolinas. In addition to detailed and fully illustrated identification keys for both larvae and adults, Mosquitoes of the Southeastern United States includes information on the mosquito's lifecycle, interaction with humans, and biological diversity in the southeast. This area of the country has a rich mosquito fauna with diverse species ranging from the tiny pitcher plant mosquito to the brilliantly colored cannibal mosquito. Close-up photographs of live adults showcase their widely varied and beautiful bodies while remarkable images made with the aid of a microaquarium reveal the differences in larval stages of the subjects. For each species described, Nathan D. Burkett-Cadena provides biological information including distribution maps, habitat associations of the larvae and adults, range of animals fed upon, and importance from a medical standpoint.
Southern Wildlife Watcher by
(EBSCO eBook) The Southern Wildlife Watcher is a colorful look at thirty-six common and not-so-common animals found in the southeastern United States--from the hummingbird to the bald eagle and from the bullfrog to the bobcat. Rob Simbeck, one of the Southeast's most widely read naturalists, combines a poet's voice with a journalist's rigor in offering readers an intimate introduction to the creatures around us.
Bees in Your Backyard by
(Credo eBook) The Bees in Your Backyard provides an engaging introduction to the roughly 4,000 different bee species found in the United States and Canada, dispelling common myths about bees while offering essential tips for telling them apart in the field.
Black's Veterinary Dictionary by
(Credo eBook) Black's Veterinary Dictionary is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals.
Crustaceans by
(EBSCO eBook) Crustaceans are key organisms in aquatic ecosystems. Today crustaceans of Ponto-Caspian origin have become important faunal constituents in many European water bodies, including the Baltic Sea.
Encyclopedia of Insects by
(Credo eBook) Articles contributed by over 260 high profile and internationally recognized entomologists provide definitive facts regarding all insects from ants, beetles, and butterflies to yellow jackets, zoraptera, and zygentoma.
Fishes: a Guide to Their Diversity by
(Credo eBook) This unique and comprehensive reference showcases the basic anatomy and diversity of all 82 orders of fishes and more than 150 of the most commonly encountered families, focusing on their distinctive features. Accurate identification of each group, including its distinguishing characteristics, is supported with clear photographs of preserved specimens, primarily from the archives of the Marine Vertebrate Collection at Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
Garden Insects of North America by
(Credo eBook) Comprehensive guide to the common insects, mites, and other "bugs" found in the backyards and gardens of the United States and Canada.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia : extinction by
(Gale eBook) Approximately 80 articles outline major extinctions and related scientific areas.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Mammals by
(Credo eBook) Unsurpassed in scope and stunningly illustrated, this book covers every known living species, from aardvarks to zorros.
Secret Social Lives of Reptiles by
(EBSCO eBook) Reptiles have been too often dismissed as dull animals with tiny brains and simple, "asocial" lives. In reality, reptiles engage in a remarkable diversity of complex social behavior. They can live in families; communicate with one another while still in the egg; and hunt, feed, migrate, court, mate, nest, and hatch in groups. In The Secret Social Lives of Reptiles, three of the world's leading experts on reptiles bring together a wave of new research with a synthesis of classic studies to produce the only authoritative look at the social behaviors of the most provocative animals on the planet.
Swift Guide to Butterflies of North America by
(Credo eBook) This is a revised second edition of the most detailed, comprehensive, and user-friendly photographic field guide to the butterflies of North America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers all known species, beautifully illustrating them with 3,500 large, color photographs.
Ten Thousand Birds by
(Credo eBook) Ten Thousand Birds provides a thoroughly engaging and authoritative history of modern ornithology, tracing how the study of birds has been shaped by a succession of visionary and often-controversial personalities, and by the unique social and scientific contexts in which these extraordinary individuals worked.
Zoo Ethics by
(EBSCO eBook) Zoo Ethics examines the workings of modern zoos and considers the core ethical challenges that face those who choose to hold and display animals in zoos, aquariums or sanctuaries.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432