Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by
(EBSCO eBook) Combines the study of biblical interpretation with the examination of the theological and philosophical preconceptions that have influenced it, and surveys the history of interpretation from different perspectives.
The Essential Bible Dictionary by
Provides quick and reliable information on the most important people, places, and concepts found in the Bible, as well as explanations for difficult-to-understand terms. The Essential Bible Dictionary is a compact reference tool for any reader of Scripture. Unlike similar Bible dictionaries and study aids, this essential dictionary is designed to streamline Bible reading and comprehension and is focused exclusively on proper nouns and words for which a special biblical usage requires comment. In addition to defining words, places, people, and the many themes of the Bible, you'll find: Full-color images, maps, illustrations, and diagrams throughout. Succinct book overviews (arranged alphabetically) with orientating information on author, content, background, and purpose. Phonetic pronunciation key for each entry. Important cross-references for further study. Ideal for use in devotions or personal Bible study, The Essential Bible Dictionary is a storehouse of information that will bring the everyday world of the Bible to life. Can be used with any translation of the Bible.
A Concise Dictionary of Bible Origins and Interpretation by
Concise, convenient and comprehensive: this handy dictionary will inform and enlighten all who want to understand how the Bible came together, the history of the various texts behind it, the versions in which it has appeared, the process of editing and compilation, and the different methods of interpretation that have developed over the centuries. Much of this material can be found in larger reference works and commentaries, but most students and lay people find that most of these books are written by scholars for scholars, which means the reader can feel bogged down in too much technical detail. Informed by the latest advances in biblical scholarship, this handy dictionary provides the reader with concise, manageable information on all the key issues and topics. It will be especially helpful to students of religion and related subjects, as well as to religious educators in schools, colleges and churches of all denominations.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432