Skip to Main Content
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell; Donald S. Lopez; Robert E. Buswell; Donald S. Lopez
(Credo ebook) The most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Publication Date: 2013-11-24
Understanding Buddhism by Don Nardo
(EBSCO ebook) In ancient India, a wealthy prince named Siddhartha beheld human suffering and became determined to try to put a stop to it. Through meditation and self-discipline, he gained enlightenment and attracted a following that over time grew in the new faith-Buddhism. The religion's beginnings are discussed, along with core beliefs, common practices, and challenges for the future.
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Buddhisms by John S. Strong
Buddhism or Buddhisms? By the time they move on to Buddhism in Japan, many students who have studied its origins in India ask whether this is in fact the same religion, so different can they appear. In Buddhisms: An Introduction, Professor John S. Strong provides an overview of the Buddhist tradition in all its different forms around the world. Beginning at the modern day temples of Lumbini, where the Buddha was born, Strong takes us through the life of the Buddha and a study of Buddhist Doctrine, revealing how Buddhism has changed just as it has stayed the same. Finally, Strong examines the nature of Buddhist community life and its development today in the very different environments of Thailand, Japan, and Tibet. Enriched by the author's own insights gathered over forty years, Buddhisms never loses sight of the personal experience amidst the wide-scope of its subject. Clear in its explanations, replete with tables and suggestions for further reading, this is an essential new work that makes original contributions to the study of this 2,500 year-old religion.
Publication Date: 2015-07-02
Buddhism Illuminated: Manuscript Art From South-East Asia by Camʻʺ Camʻʺ Me, Jana Igunma
(EBSCO ebook) Buddhist temples in Southeast Asia are centers for the preservation of local artistic traditions. Chief among these are manuscripts, a vital source for our understanding of Buddhist ideas and practices in the region. They are also a beautiful art form, too little understood in the West.The British Library has one of the richest collections of Southeast Asian manuscripts, principally from Thailand and Burma, anywhere in the world. It includes finely painted copies of Buddhist scriptures, literary works, historical narratives, and works on traditional medicine, law, cosmology, and fortune-telling. Buddhism Illuminated includes over one hundred examples of Buddhist art from the Library's collection, relating each manuscript to Theravada tradition and beliefs, and introducing the historical, artistic, and religious contexts of their production. It is the first book in English to showcase the beauty and variety of Buddhist manuscript art and reproduces many works that have never before been photographed.
Publication Date: 2018
Buddhism Beyond Borders: New Perspectives on Buddhism in the United States by Scott A. Mitchell (Editor); Natalie E. F. Quli (Editor)
(EBSCO ebook) Buddhism beyond Borders provides a fresh consideration of Buddhism in the American context. It includes both theoretical discussions and case studies to highlight the tension between studies that locate Buddhist communities in regionally specific areas and those that highlight the translocal nature of an increasingly interconnected world. Whereas previous examinations of Buddhism in North America have assumed a more or less essentialized and homogeneous "American" culture, the essays in this volume offer a corrective, situating American Buddhist groups within the framework of globalized cultural flows, while exploring the effects of local forces. Contributors examine regionalism within American Buddhisms, Buddhist identity and ethnicity as academic typologies, Buddhist modernities, the secularization and hybridization of Buddhism, Buddhist fiction, and Buddhist controversies involving the Internet, among other issues.
Publication Date: 2015-05-26