Find articles and more:
Search more databases...
Look up names, definitions, historical events, and more:
Selected reference books on LGBTQ+ topics:
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history by
Provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide by
(EBSCO eBook) This reference work from 2009 offers an international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. More than 70 countries are represented.
Lesbian Histories and Cultures by
(EBSCO eBook) Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavors.
The SAGE encyclopedia of trans studies
(Credo eBook) This encyclopedia takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts, to specific subjects, to key historical figures, events, and organizations. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.
From the Closet to the Altar by
From the Closet to the Altar is a definitive one-volume history of the tumultuous emergence of same-sex marriage in American life as well as a landmark study of litigation, social reform, and the phenomenon of political backlash to court decisions.
From the Closet to the Courtroom by
Engaging and largely untold, From the Closet to the Courtroom explores how five pivotal lawsuits have altered LGBT history. In this account, Ball vividly documents how these judicial victories have significantly altered LGBT lives today in ways that were unimaginable only a generation ago.
Non-Binary Lives by
What does it mean to be non-binary in the 21st Century? Our gender identity is impacted by our personal histories; the cultures, communities and countries we are born into; and the places we go and the people we meet. But the representation of contemporary non-binary identities has been limited, until now. Pushing the narrative around non-binary identities further than ever before, this powerful collection of essays represents the breadth of non-binary lives, across the boundaries of race, class, age, sexuality, faith and more. Leading non-binary people share stories of their intersecting lives; how it feels to be non-binary and neurodiverse, the challenges of being a non-binary pregnant person, what it means to be non-binary within the Quaker community, the joy of reaching gender euphoria. This thought-provoking anthology shows that there is no right or wrong way to be non-binary.
Queering Christianity by
Through essays by noted lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, and intersex (LGBTQI) religion scholars, this important compilation summarizes the history and current status of LGBTQI theology, exploring its relationship to the policies, practices, and theology of traditional Christianity.
Queer Literacies by
In a documentarian investigation of the major LGBTQ archives in the United States, Queer Literacies: Discourses and Discontents identifies the homophobic discourses that prevailed in the twentieth-century by those discursive forces that also sponsored the literacy acquisition of the nation. Mark McBeth tracks down the evidence of how these sponsors of literacy-families, teachers, librarians, doctors, scientists, and government agents-instituted heteronormative platforms upon which public discourses were constructed. After pinpointing and analyzing how this disparaging rhetoric emerged, McBeth examines how certain LGBTQ advocates took counter-literacy measures to upend and replace those discourses with more Queer-affirming articulations.
Queerstory by
Queerstory is an accessible infographic of the global LGBTQ+ movement over the past 100 years that provides the visual overview of all the significant people and events that changed the course of history.
Redefining Realness by
Redefining Realness offers a bold new perspective on being young, multiracial, economically challenged and transgender in America.
The Right to Be Out by
This book offers history and analysis of the dramatic legal developments LGBT rights since 1968 followed by recommendations on what K-12 schools should do, and in many cases have already done, to implement right-to-be-out policies.
Sweet Tea by
(EBSCO eBook -- also available in Circulating Collection) Giving voice to a population too rarely acknowledged, Sweet Tea collects more than sixty life stories from black gay men who were born, raised, and continue to live in the South
Trans Care by
A radical and necessary rethinking of trans care. What does it mean for trans people to show up for one another, to care deeply for one another? How have failures of care shaped trans lives? What care practices have trans subjects and communities cultivated in the wake of widespread transphobia and systemic forms of trans exclusion? Trans Care is a critical intervention in how care labor and care ethics have been thought, arguing that dominant modes of conceiving and critiquing the politics and distribution of care entrench normative and cis-centric familial structures and gendered arrangements. A serious consideration of trans survival and flourishing requires a radical rethinking of how care operates. Forerunners is a thought-in-process series of breakthrough digital works. Written between fresh ideas and finished books, Forerunners draws on scholarly work initiated in notable blogs, social media, conference plenaries, journal articles, and the synergy of academic exchange. This is gray literature publishing: where intense thinking, change, and speculation take place in scholarship.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432