Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Studies: African American Studies

Key Resources

Credo Reference: African Americans
Get an overview and definitions of terms. Explore related concepts.

Find articles and more:

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO offers academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Find articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Covers biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Dates: 1980 - present. Provided by TEL.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains the full backfiles of journals from their first issue up to the most recent 2 - 6 years. Current or recent articles are not available. U.S. articles published before 1923 are freely available regardless of subscription. CBU subscribes to JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection. Much of ARTStor is now included in JSTOR.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Provided by TEL.
Exploring Race in Society
Exploring Race in Society is a free research database from EBSCO providing access to scholarly articles, reports and essays on topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Search more databases...

Reference Books

African American Folklore (EBSCO eBook)

African American Studies (EBSCO eBook)

Black America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia (EBSCO eBook)

Encyclopedia of African-American Politics (Credo eBook)

Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture (EBSCO eBook)

Encyclopedia of African American Music (EBSCO eBook)

Books

African American Arts (EBSCO eBook)

African Americans and Africa (EBSCO eBooks)

Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America's Prison Nation

Black Power: Radical Politics and African American Identity (EBSCO eBook)

Between the World and Me

The Black Campus Movement: Black Students and the Racial Reconstitution of Higher Education, 1965-1972

The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race

The History of Black Studies (EBSCO eBook)

Keywords for African American Studies (Credo eBook)

Life Upon These Shores: Looking at African American History, 1513-2008

Lift Every Voice: the NAACP and the Making of the Civil Rights Movement

Recipes for Respect: African American Meals and Meaning (EBSCO eBook)

Sister Citizen: Shame, Stereotypes, and Black Women in America

The Souls of Black Folk (Yale University Press) (EBSCO eBook)

Veil and Vow : Marriage Matters in Contemporary African American Culture (EBSCO eBook)

Videos

Black Studies in Video
Black Studies in Video brings together documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues. This collection is part of Academic Video Online.

Moving Image Archive
Contains millions of digital movies uploaded by Internet Archive users. Content ranges from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many videos are available for free download.

Digital Collections

Explore these free digital collections to find documents, films, photos, interviews, sound recordings, and more:

African-American Migration Experience From the New York Public Library Schomburg Center, offers essays, books, articles, and manuscripts, 8,300 illustrations, 100 lesson plans, and 60 maps to aid in understanding peoples, places, and events that shaped African America's migration over the past four hundred years. (Some map animations no longer work due to outdated Flash technology.)
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project 1936-1938 Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
Civil Rights Digital Library This major collection includes a digital video archive of historical news film, connections to related digital collections on a national scale, encyclopedia articles, and more.
HistoryMakers National archive of 3,000+ video oral histories of African Americans.
North American Slave Narratives Books, memoirs, and articles providing autobiographical account of slavery. Accounts are from published works up until 1920.

About Memphis:

I Am a Man: The Memphis Sanitation Worker's Strike
Online exhibit from Wayne State University documenting the 1968 sanitation workers strike in Memphis.

Historic Magazines:

Black World/Negro Digest Collection of issues from the 1960s and 1970s, digitized by Google.
The Crisis Official publication of the NAACP. Scans of issues from 1910 through 2010, digitized by Google.
Ebony Major African American magazine. Complete scans of issues from 1960 through 2000, digitized by Google.
Jet African American weekly news publication, digitized by Google, from 1950 through 2005.

Interdisciplinary Studies

Search the Library

Help

Key Resources

Reference Books

African American Folklore (EBSCO eBook)

African American Studies (EBSCO eBook)

Black America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia (EBSCO eBook)

Encyclopedia of African-American Politics (Credo eBook)

Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture (EBSCO eBook)

Encyclopedia of African American Music (EBSCO eBook)

Books

African American Arts (EBSCO eBook)

African Americans and Africa (EBSCO eBooks)

Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America's Prison Nation

Black Power: Radical Politics and African American Identity (EBSCO eBook)

Between the World and Me

The Black Campus Movement: Black Students and the Racial Reconstitution of Higher Education, 1965-1972

The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race

The History of Black Studies (EBSCO eBook)

Keywords for African American Studies (Credo eBook)

Life Upon These Shores: Looking at African American History, 1513-2008

Lift Every Voice: the NAACP and the Making of the Civil Rights Movement

Recipes for Respect: African American Meals and Meaning (EBSCO eBook)

Sister Citizen: Shame, Stereotypes, and Black Women in America

The Souls of Black Folk (Yale University Press) (EBSCO eBook)

Veil and Vow : Marriage Matters in Contemporary African American Culture (EBSCO eBook)

Videos

Digital Collections

Explore these free digital collections to find documents, films, photos, interviews, sound recordings, and more: