Engineering

2024 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook by International Code Council; Douglas W. Thornburg; John "Buddy" Showalter With 600+ illustrations, the go-to resource for building code compliance has been updated with critical new information for properly interpreting and applying IBC provisions Whether you're an architect, engineer, contractor, building manager, or municipal official involved in construction, the 2024 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook provides everything you need to understand the latest building code provisions. This edition features new updates to the information on structural loads based on reference to ASCE/SEI 7-22 Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures. Covering all the key IBC changes, the 2024 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook will help you understand complex code provisions to achieve compliance.  Additional updates to this edition cover:  Steel, wood, concrete and masonry standards Guards on retaining walls NFPA 13R sprinkler protection for apartment buildings Egress requirements for occupiable roofs Loadbearing exterior wall provisions for Type III construction Fire resistance of exterior walls Facilities involved in lithium-ion and lithium metal batteries Public occupancy temporary structures

Commercial Building Construction: Materials and Methods by David Madsen (AccessEngineering eBook) This hands-on textbook introduces you to commercial building construction methods and materials currently used in the United States and Canada. The book is logically organized to reflect real-world practices by flowing from preliminary concept to completion for each construction element.

Construction Estimating : A Step-by-Step Guide to a Successful Estimate by Karl F. Schmid (EBSCO eBook) A guide to the basics of estimating construction costs for residential and light commercial building projects. It takes readers through five phases that lead to a successful estimate: initial assessment, work analysis, programming, costing and cost distribution and summarization.

Construction Operations Manual of Policies and Procedures, Fifth Edition by Sidney M. Levy; Andrew M. Civitello (AccessEngineering eBook) Fully revised throughout, the new edition of this practical guide offers a wealth of proven strategies for effectively running a construction business, delivering high-quality projects on time and within budget, and maximizing profits--all gleaned from the authors' decades-long experience in the construction industry.

Construction Planning, Equipment, and Methods, Tenth Edition by Aaron Cohen; Robert L. Peurifoy; Clifford J. Schexnayder; Robert Schmitt; Aviad Shapira (AccessEngineering eBook) This thoroughly revised guide covers the fundamentals of construction equipment, machinery utilization, and production estimating. You will learn about construction economics, earthwork, and soil and rock properties. Rock blasting and drilling, pile driving, water pumping, and concrete and asphalt construction procedures are clearly explained. The book also contains technical depth for calculating machine production capability.

CPM in Construction Management, Eighth Edition by James J. O'Brien; Fredric L. Plotnick (AccessEngineering eBook) Plan, schedule, and manage construction projects using the critical path method (CPM) and the practical information contained in this thoroughly revised book. Written by two experienced engineers and authors, CPM in Construction Management, Eighth Edition, explains the evolution of CPM and fully covers the latest techniques, standards, and tools.

Project Management in Construction, Seventh Edition by Sidney M. Levy (AccessEngineering eBook) Up-to-Date, Proven Construction Project Management Techniques Thoroughly revised to cover the latest technologies and standards, this practical resource provides all of the information necessary to efficiently execute every phase of any construction job. The book features complete details on estimating, purchasing, contract administration, team management, quality control and assurance, and other topics essential to completing a project on time and within budget.

Urban Construction Project Management by Richard Lambeck; John Eschemuller (AccessEngineering eBook) Filled with hands-on advice from two seasoned project management experts, Urban Construction Project Management provides a wealth of proven solutions to the common problems of construction management in urban environments. The book includes cutting-edge information about working on small sites, public safety, the permit process, coordinating with utility companies, dealing with adjacent properties, and many other topics.