Research Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Home

Key Resources

AccessEngineering
Search hundreds of engineering books, including Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain. Includes videos, DataVis Material Properties, and spreadsheet calculators.
Knovel
Search ebooks in Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; and General Engineering & Project Administration. Includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations, and interactive graphs and tables.
Help Pages:
- Support Center

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate from EBSCO offers academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
SciTech Premium Collection
Contains thousands of full-text titles covering natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video, and more. Dates: 1946 - present.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.

JSTOR Sustainability
Discover a wide range of journals, eBooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.

ScienceDirect
Index to journals published by Elsevier, primarily in STEM fields. Some articles are "Open Access," and available in full text automatically. Select "Open Access" on the left-hand-side limiter list.

WolframAlpha Engineering
Compute Doppler shifts, generate waveforms, visualize vortex fields, analyze refrigeration cycles, get information about structures, and more. (TIP: anywhere you see a >>, click for more examples.)

IESTOC.org
IESTOC.ORG is a scholarly-refereed, open access online journal and conference website sponsored by Christian Brothers University's School of Engineering. Presentations consist of extended abstracts, PowerPoints, and a discussion forum. IESTOC.ORG replaces the online MAESC and PACKCON conference pages