Library News

This week's feature resource is Academic Search Complete, a.k.a. EBSCO. This database is one of our most popular and for good reason! Academic Search Complete is an online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. This database is great for beginner researchers and a good place to begin gathering sources. 

A frequent request we, as librarians, get is help finding peer-reviewed, scholarly articles. One of the best places to start looking is Academic Search Complete. The interface is relatively easy to navigate and even the most beginner of researchers can quickly find results. The advanced search option allows for narrower search results, getting you even closer to what you need.

There is a citation tool which generates citations from MLS, APA, Chicago/Turabian, etc. Of course, we recommend you double check your citations (our resource guide here can help with that), just in case! 

Academic Search Complete also offers more than 78,000 videos from the Associated Press, updated monthly. These videos include footage from 1930 to the present and can help bring variety to your research and cited sources.

We have a couple of videos in our Student Resources library guide that offer more guidance on how to use Academic Source Complete:

• Academic Search Part 1: Basic Search
• Academic Search Part 2: Tools to Use

When in doubt, a librarian can offer some help using any of the resources that Plough Library has to offer. You can visit us in person, email us at library@cbu.edu, or you can use the chat box function on our home page.

Happy researching!

Most people associate university libraries with studying, textbooks, and printing. They would be right, but there is more to us than just academic texts!

At Plough Library, we have an area for what we deem ‘Popular Books’. Think: The Hunger Games, The Hate U Give, and The Song of Achilles. We have authors such as John Green, Colleen Hoover, N.K. Jemisin, and Julia Alvarez. The ‘Popular Books’ shelves are located on the main floor of the library to the left of the entrance, on the other side of the student computers. 

There is a wide variety of books in this section. There are graphic novels, young adult books, mysteries, thrillers, fantasy, sci-fi, romance, contemporary fiction, non-fiction and more. We also have books in Spanish. 

Look. We know you're busy. Who has time to read for fun when there are classes, homework, clubs, and sports practice to think about? Well, it might surprise you to learn that reading for fun has some actual benefits! According to George Mason University, recreational reading relieves stress, improves brain and cognitive development, and increases empathy. 

If you're not sure where to start, one of your friendly, neighborhood Plough librarians would be happy to help recommend a book or two!

Did you know that you can do more than check out books and study at Plough Library? This week we'd like to tell you about how to print. Printing at Plough Library is free to do!

Step 1: Log into one of the computers located just to the left of the library's main entrance. Your login information is the same as your CBU email, without the “@cbu.edu”. 

Step 2: Locate the document you would like to print. If it is something that can only be found on your personal device (laptop or tablet), we recommend transferring it via usb, through cloud storage such as OneDrive, or by emailing it to yourself so that it can be opened on the library's computer. 

• We may one day be able to connect the printer to personal devices, but alas, it is not yet time. 

Step 3: On the Print screen, make sure “FollowMe_Student” is selected as the printer. You can now click Print. 

• Troubleshooting tip: Sometimes, the pesky printer doesn't want to connect to one of the computers. If “FollowMe_Student” isn't one of the options on the Print screen, we suggest logging into the next computer available and trying again. 

Step 4: The printer is located just around the corner of the elevator, to the right of the main entrance. At the printer, tap your student ID card.

• If this is your first time printing, you can associate your card with the machine. Once your card is associated, all you need to do is tap your card to release your print job. A librarian can help you with this process. Otherwise, you will need to use the same log in information you used for the computer.

Step 5: Select the print jobs you want to print and click Print. 

If all of this information has you looking like this:

Have no fear! There is a friendly, neighborhood librarian close by that can walk you through this process, step by step.

Come to Plough Library to get to know the library, play games, have treats, and meet the Library staff! The fun starts Tuesday, September 23rd at 11:00am!

Sometimes finding resources feels like looking for a needle in a haystack. Plough Library offers many databases that are free for CBU students to use, but which one is the right one for each area of study? 

The Plough librarians have created different Subject Guides that contain links, books, articles, databases and more that are relevant to each study area. The list of Subject Guides can be easily accessed from the library's homepage; there is a link just below the search bar:

There are several guides to choose from. Not only do we offer guides pertaining to your classes, we also have resources available in other areas, such as: Lasallian Research, Citing Sources, Safe Zones Resources, Information Literacy, etc. 

Within each guide are tabs to further narrow down resources. For example, the Engineering Subject Guide contains tabs to the different areas of engineering:

Enjoy the latest Plough Library news in our newsletter The Same Page! 

Plough Library offers many resources for business assignments. Below are just a few of the research tools Plough Library has to offer, and these just barely scratch the surface. 

Business Source Ultimate - This EBSCO database features articles from academic, professional, and trade journals. You can find case studies, country economic reports, and company and industry profiles. Also featured are interviews with executives and analysts. 

• Business Source: Enhanced Business Searching Interface - As part of Business Source Ultimate, you can also browse company and industry profiles, as well as market research and company reports. 
• Regional Business News - Another EBSCO database that covers 75 business journals and newspapers from across the country.

Gale OneFile Business - Provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL), this is a great resource to analyze industry trends. You can look up broker research reports, trade publications, and even company directories.

• Gale Business: Insights - Great for researching and analyzing companies and industries around the world.

There are more databases in the Plough Library Business and Economics research guide, as well as reference books, websites, glossaries, journals, and more. 

If you need help or have any questions about business resources, contact School of Business liaison librarian William Brandon. 

Welcome to the latest edition of The Same Page, Plough Library's newsletter! In it, you'll find our open house, database news, book recommendations, and librarian news!

You have most likely already heard of and even used EBSCO as a resource. The reason it's our Featured Resource of the Month is because it has gotten a makeover! Some new things of note include: a new homepage look, more personalization, and better citation tools.

Check it out here: EBSCO

Compare the new look to the current interface below:

Let us know your thoughts on the new interface! It is available to use now, only on the CBU campus. In January, we will completely switch over to the new look and users will be able to access it off-campus, as well.

CBU Students!

The librarians want your feedback! We have put together a short survey to help us serve you better. Please take a moment to share your thoughts with us here. We also have print copies available in the Library.

Thanks for your willingness to participate.