Located in the northwest corner of the Library’s main floor, the Battersby Lasallian Collection contains biographies of St. John Baptist de la Salle, books on the history of the order and Lasallian education, and books by and about many Christian Brothers. Books in the Battersby Lasallian Collection may be checked out for the same length of time as items in Plough Library's general circulating collection (28 days for undergraduate students and until the end of the semester for graduate students, faculty, and staff).
In 2011, Brother Terence McLaughlin, FSC proposed the creation of a permanent Lasallian Collection in Plough Library. Br. Terence requested that it be named the Battersby Lasallian Collection, after William John Battersby (Brother Clair Stanislaus, F.S.C.), a Christian Brother and prolific author of several major works about the order. Br. Terence also authored several books in the collection, including The Passing of the Baton (2008), about the Lasallian Movement’s transition to include more laypeople, and Silent Acceptance (2012), about the integration of Christian Brothers High School in 1963. Most of the collection came from the Brothers' community library in their Lambert Hall residence. It continues to grow through individual book donations, the addition of Lasallian books moved from Plough Library's main circulating collection, and new purchases of selected Lasallian books as they are published.
Jean-Baptiste de la Salle : a Mystic in Action by
Jean-Baptiste de La Salle: A Mystic in Action is an English translation of a 2019 biography on Saint John Baptist de La Salle, founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools. Previously printed in French and Spanish, this scholarly publication shines new light on De La Salle's personality and life journey, including his historical and political contexts, major decisions and challenges, innovations, writings and impact on education. Bernard Hours, professor of modern history at the University of Lyon who specializes in religious orders of the 17th and 18th centuries, wrote the original French text, which Anna Fitzgerald translated for this English edition.
John Baptist de la Salle : the Spirituality of Christian Education by
The spirituality of the first major spiritual writer (1651-1719) to integrate the Christian vocation of education of the poor by lay men and women into a coherent spirituality. La Salle is considered to be the founder of modern education.
Touching the Hearts of Students : Characteristics of Lasallian Schools by
This volume is a resource for teachers, administrators, board members and all who are engaged in Lasallian educational ministries today. It reflects on the life and times of De La Salle and the early Institute and their significance in today's educational world.
The Work Is Yours: the Life of Saint John Baptist de La Salle by
Considered to be the best popular biography of John Baptist de La Salle in English, this work incorporates modern research to provide an illuminating background on the life and charism of the Founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432