Student Resources

Search for books and videos using the Search the Library box on this page, or use the Advanced Search.

LIMIT BY FORMAT

There are two ways to limit your search results by format (Book, Video, Articles, etc.):

1. After running a search, look for the Format limiter on the left side of the screen. Click on the checkbox next to Book (or other desired format).

OR

2. On the Advanced Search page, go to Search Tools and use the Format dropdown to select the format you want.

KEYWORD (default)

• Capitalization and punctuation are not necessary, except hyphens.
• Exact word order is not required.
• Include the author's last name if you have it.

Examples:

AUTHORS

• For better results, used the Advanced Search and select Author instead of Keyword.
• Capitalization and punctuation don't matter.
• Use Author search to find authors, editors, artists, illustrators, translators, corporations, and organizations.

Examples:

Find the item on the shelf (or online) using the information provided:

Status: This indicates if an item is available for use.

• Available = Item is on the shelf
• Not Available = Item is checked out or otherwise unavailable

Locations include:

• Reference
• Circulating Books
• Curriculum Library
• New Books
• Display
• Oversize Books
• Audiovisual
• Periodicals
• Lasallian Collection

Call Number: We use the Dewey Decimal classification system. Each call number range represents a particular subject.

1. Search the library search box on the library homepage.
   OR
   Select a database: Browse the A-Z Databases page by title or subject and select a database.
2. Search for an article: Start with a keyword search. Enter your search terms in the search box.
3. Select an article: After submitting your search, you'll get a list of articles from which to choose.
4. View your article: Most databases include the full text of the articles along with the citations. If so, then your search is complete! Just click on the full text link (may be labeled HTML or PDF). However, sometimes you will only get a citation for an article.

If the full text isn't available, try these options:

1. See if the article is available in another database: Click on "Check for Full Text," "Access now," or "Get full text," to see if full text of the article is available in any of our other databases. The label varies by database.
    
2. Find the print version: If the article isn't available in a database, check WorldCat Discovery for print holdings of the journal in our library or nearby libraries (University of Memphis, Rhodes).

• Scholarly or Professional Journals (aka Peer-Reviewed): contain articles published by scholars or experts in a specific field. Usually based on original research, they are peer-reviewed (or refereed), meaning they are read and approved by other scholars before being published. They include author credentials, abstracts, and bibliographies.
• Popular Magazines: contain current events, news, and general interest articles for the general public. They are written primarily to inform and entertain. (Examples: Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, Rolling Stone)
• Trade Publications: fall somewhere in between scholarly and popular periodicals and cover a particular trade or industry. Authors are usually specialists in an industry who write to give practical information to people in their field. 

TIP: Use the "Peer Reviewed" checkbox in EBSCO databases, Gale databases, and the SciTech Premium Collection database to narrow your search to only the peer-reviewed sources.