Encyclopedia of Feeding and Eating Disorders by
(Credo eBook) The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders.
Body Image in Eating Disorders by
(EBSCO eBook) Body Image in Eating Disorders explores issues relating to the prevention, clinical diagnosis, and psychological treatment of distortions of body image in eating disorders.
Eating Disorder Recovery Handbook by
(EBSCO eBook) This empathetic handbook has been created for people affected by any form of disordered eating. Thoughtfully compiled by experienced authors, it will be a comprehensive guide through every stage of your recovery, from recognizing and understanding your disorder and learning fully about treatment, to self-help tools and practical advice for maintaining recovery and looking to the future.
Eating Disorders by
(EBSCO eBook) Body image is a subjective multidimensional construction that has an early and continuous influence on ones emotions, thoughts, and behaviors. Throughout the lifespan, the body image suffers several influences and changes, as it is a complex and contextualized construct. Body image distortion may lead to the development of an eating disorder. Eating disorders are characterized by a persistent disturbance of eating or eating-related behavior that results in altered consumptions or absorptions of food and that can significantly impair physical health or psychological functioning. This book provides an in-depth review of the prevalence of eating disorders. It also discusses several risk factors, and available treatment options for those suffering from eating disorders.
Eating Disorders in America: a Reference Handbook by
(Gale eBook) Although eating disorders have existed for centuries, considerable controversy remains as to the basic cause or causes of these disorders and their genetic, biological, and/or psychological factors. Eating Disorders in America: A Reference Handbook investigates these disorders, priming readers on the causes, symptoms, controversies, and treatments available. The two opening chapters of the book provide general background and a historical review of the existence of eating disorders in society. The remaining chapters provide resources the reader can use for further research, such as an extensive annotated bibliography, a glossary, and a chronology. This book differs from others on the topic in that it provides both an expository section that provides information as well as a set of resources for further research. The book also contains a "perspectives" chapter in which writers describe and discuss their personal views on the subject of eating disorders. Together with the author's expertise, these views add to the value of this book as a resource for eating disorder research.
Encyclopedia of feeding and eating disorders by
(Credo eBook) The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders. The scope of the book is an overview of all the feeding and eating disorders from "bench to bedside", incorporating recent changes introduced into the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5). The aim is to present one of the first complete overviews of the newly defined area of feeding and eating disorders with respect to genetics, biology and neuroscience through to theory and its application in developing clinical approaches to the prevention and treatment of feeding and eating disorders.
Famished by
(EBSCO eBook) Famished, the culmination of over two decades of anthropological and clinical work, as well as a lifetime of lived experience, presents a profound rethinking of eating disorders and how to treat them. Through a mix of rich cultural analysis, detailed therapeutic accounts, and raw autobiographical reflections, Famished helps make sense of why people develop eating disorders, what the process of recovery is like, and why treatments so often fail. It's also an unsparing condemnation of the tension between profit and care in American healthcare, demonstrating how a system set up to treat a disease may, in fact, perpetuate it.
Men Writing Eating Disorders by
(EBSCO eBook) Eating disorders are situated at the complex interface of biology, medicine, culture, society, and politics, and are seen differently from each perspective. This book brings together discussions of eating, food, gender, sexuality and mental health through analysis of published autobiographical narratives authored by men with experience of living with one of the main eating disorders (anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa and binge-eating disorder) as well as associated mental health problems such as body dysmorphic disorder and depression.
Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders by
(EBSCO eBook) An exceptionally practical book for clinicians who are interested in evaluating and treating eating disorders in children and adults, Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders, provides expert guidance in a succinct and accessible format. Most people with eating disorders lack access to specialty services, leaving the majority undiagnosed and untreated. The editors and contributors, Stanford University researchers and clinicians, have written the book for nonspecialists in hopes that it will foster the development of relevant clinical skills and allow them to help patients with eating disorders in their practices.
Short Introduction to Understanding and Supporting Children and Young People with Eating Disorders by
(EBSCO eBook) This easy-to-read guide presents all the vital information on a range of eating disorders: anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, selective eating, and avoidant and restrictive intake disorders. Each eating disorder is clearly defined, and the book covers their origins,characteristics and typical development, letting teachers and parents know what signs to look for.
Tipping the Scales by
(EBSCO eBook) Tipping the Scales: Ethical and Legal Dilemmas in Managing Severe Eating Disorders centers on the complex and at times wrenching medicolegal and ethical challenges encountered in treating patients with severe and enduring eating disorders (SEEDs). Unlike other mental health disorders, for which the care of a medical physician is typically unnecessary, patients with eating disorders have many significant medical complications that demand careful oversight by a physician knowledgeable in treating these disorders.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432