Research Guides: Faculty Resources: Public Domain Images

Public Domain & Open Access Images

Use these sites to find public domain or open access images for use in your classroom projects.

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) A free-use image resource for the educational community arranged by art historical period and keyed to major art historical textbooks, i.e. Janson, Gardner, Hartt.
Artstor (Public Collections) Find freely available art and images from Artstor Public Collections. Includes fine art, photographs, posters, advertising, and more.
Flickr: The Commons Photos, with no known or limited copyright restrictions, available from The Library of Congress, Brooklyn Museum, NYPL, Smithsonian Institution, Bibliothèque de Toulouse, Australian War Memorial Collection, George Eastman House, Imperial War Museum Collections, The Field Museum Library, National Galleries of Scotland Commons, Getty Research Institute and 20 other participating institutions.
Getty Open Content Program All images found through this site should be credited as "Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program".
Pixabay Repository for public domain pictures, including free vectors, free drawings and free photos. You can use any Pixabay image without attribution in digital and printed form, even for commercial applications. (NOTE: the top row of sponsored results are from Shutterstock and are not free.)
Public Domain Pictures This site is a repository for free public domain images. Users have the option to pay the photographer for the image, but this is not required.
Public Domain Review: Images Curated collection of images available in the public domain. Browse by medium, time period, tag and source. You can also sort by the type of public domain rights that apply to the items (for example, whether it is in the public domain everywhere in the world).
Raw Pixel Aiming to “give everyone access to the best public domain creative resources” Raw Pixel scans and enhances high resolution images from antique books, plates and museum collections ensuring each image is 100% copyright free for personal or commercial use (CC0 license).
U.S. Government Photos & Images Many of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. You should read the disclaimers on each site before using these images. If you have questions about the copyright status of an image, please contact the government agency that produced the image.
Smithsonian Open Access Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. Includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Faculty Resources

About Public Domain

Help

Public Domain & Open Access Images