Library News

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

Join Plough Library for our first Library Speaker Series event of the semester! Dr. Neal Palmer, Associate Professor of History & Political Science, will be sharing "The Beatles and the Origins of Multiculturalism in Late 1960s Britain." Dr. Palmer will share on Wednesday, August 24 at 4:00-4:30 in Plough Library's InfoLab. For more information about the event, visit the CBU Events page.

The Library Speaker Series gives CBU faculty and staff a chance to share a topic that they are passionate about and enjoy.

After eight weeks of temporary closure due to lack of air conditioning, Plough Library is open for fall semester! The library staff are thrilled to see all of CBU's new and returning students, faculty, and staff. Come by and find quiet, comfortable study spaces, helpful librarians, New & Popular Books, Course Reserves, themed book displays, and more.

Online, check out the library homepage, where you'll find our main library search box powered by WorldCat Discovery. Start there to find books, ebooks, articles, streaming videos, and more. Below that, you'll see button links for Databases & Articles and Subject Guides. Under Additional Resources, you'll see a link to the Library FAQ. Consult the Library FAQ to find quick answers to frequently asked questions and submit new questions. Another new link is Research Help, which takes you to a list of research guides including Citing Sources, How to Research a Topic, and Plough Library YouTube Tutorial Videos.  

Interested in CBU History? Check out the CBU History Collection for over a thousand images depicting our history since the school's founding up to the present. These images all come from the Br. I. Leo O'Donnell Archives. Plough Library also has a Lasallian Collection located on the main floor by the periodicals, with books by and about the work of the De La Salle Christian Brothers.

The staff of Plough Library are here to help. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions!

Welcome back, CBU students and faculty!

Plough Library is pleased to welcome you all back to campus and back to the library. We're also happy to share with you subject-specific lists of the new books that were acquired and added to our collection between April and June 2022 (newspapers, journals, and other serials are not included). The lists are linked below:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: Apr-Jun 2022
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: Apr-Jun 2022
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: Apr-Jun 2022
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: Apr-Jun 2022

We are constantly adding titles to the library's collection and will continue sharing these exciting updates with you–here are just a few:

 

Want to browse more new and popular books? Check out the New & Popular Books LibGuide!

Be sure to check back for future acquisition announcements, and, as always, please reach out if you have any questions or would like more information: library@cbu.edu.