Mark Duncan
Save the date for the Library Open House! Come to Plough Library on Tuesday, October 22 from 11am-1pm during the Open House! We’ll have games & puzzles, food & prizes, comic books, a station to suggest names for our new plants, material from the archives, and opportunities to meet your library staff and learn about the library’s resources!
Ann Youngblood Mulhearn's Social Justice From Outside the Walls: Catholic Women in Memphis, 1950-1970 is a recent addition to Plough Library's collection. Given the time frame, it should come as no surprise that space is devoted to activist Allegra Turner, her husband and sons, Brother Terence McLaughlin, and the integration of CBHs.
You can find it in the LaSallian Collection, call number 282.768 M85 2024.
Welcome to a new school year! We are excited to see everyone back on campus and to meet new members of the CBU community. Visit the library to check out our books!
Here are some books we've added to the collection so far in 2024, sorted by subject:
New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric 2024
New Titles in Technology, Art, History, Biography, and Geography 2024
New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Math 2024
New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion 2024
You can also check out our New and Popular Books shelves on the main floor at Plough Library, right across from the Library Service Desk.
Each year we encourage you to check the links for any library resources included in your courseware. This year, however, we have an entirely new proxy prefix, so all your URLs need to be updated.
Our new prefix is:
https://christianbros.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
For databases, you can grab the correct links from the Library’s A-Z list. For links within databases, on the other hand, you will need to make new permalinks. Some databases, e.g., Films on Demand, Academic Video Online, and SciTech Premium, already include our prefix in their permalinks, so you can just copy and paste them. Others, like the EBSCO databases, do not. For these permalinks, all you need to do is add our prefix yourself! Here are some examples:
If you need help, come by the library and we’ll be glad to show you what to do. You can also send us your old URLs, and we’ll send replacements.
Deborah Babb
UPDATE: Access has been restored to most of Plough Library's online resources, including databases, ebooks, and ejournals. If you experience any further access issues, please contact Kay Cunningham at 901-321-3430 or kay.cunningham@cbu.edu.
Due to unforeseen events, most of the library's online resources are temporarily unavailable, both on and off campus. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Deborah Babb
The Same Page, the official newsletter of Plough Library, is back with our first issue since fall 2019! We invite you to read it online (it's a PDF) and see what's new, as well as services and resources you may have forgotten we offer.
In this issue:
Deborah Babb
UPDATE: The north stairwell is now open, as is the northwest corner of the top floor. You can now go up and down those stairs and browse all of the bookshelves upstairs.
Plough Library is getting a new air conditioning system installed. While work is completed, you may notice some loud noises as well as a lack of heat and A/C. Thank you for your patience!
Deborah Babb
Did you know Plough Library has two group study rooms in the northwest corner of the main floor?
These rooms are designated to support CBU students in their academic work. If not reserved, students may use a group study room but must share it with others who also wish to study.
Each room comes equipped with:
CBU students may request a group study room reservation from library staff for groups of 4 or more people for 2 hours maximum per day.
The library hopes to have an interactive online reservation system up and running by fall 2024. For now, reservation requests may be made at the Library Service Desk, by chat (available through the library homepage), by phone at (901) 321-3432, or by email at library@cbu.edu.
Please Note: We ask that you not bring any food into the group study rooms. Thank you!
If you have references in RefWorks that you wish to save, you will need to transfer your sources out of RefWorks by June 30, 2024. It is easy to export collections into any other citation manager. Free citation managers include Zotero and Mendeley. Zotero is the citation manager that Plough Library will use going forward.
Using Zotero: This page from Plough Library's Citing Sources guide has more details on how Zotero works.
If you have questions about transferring sources out of RefWorks into another citation manager, please contact Kay Cunningham, Library Director, at kay.cunningham@cbu.edu.
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38104 · (901) 321-3432
CBU Students!
The librarians want your feedback! We have put together a short survey to help us serve you better. Please take a moment to share your thoughts with us here. We also have print copies available in the Library.
Thanks for your willingness to participate.
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.