Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News

Featured Resource: CBU History Digital Collection

by Deborah Babb on 2022-11-03T16:13:00-05:00 in History | Comments

This November CBU celebrates its151st anniversary! To learn more about our history since 1871, check out the CBU History Collection, which contains a growing digital collection of images from CBU's Brother I. Leo O'Donnell Archives. The 1000+ images in the digital collection represent only a tiny percentage of what is held in the Archives, but you will find photos, documents, and objects from each decade of CBU's existence.

You can also find Memphis history within the collection, like this photo of a refugee camp from the time of the 1878 yellow fever epidemic.

camp father matthew tent city yellow fever memphis 1878

In related news, Plough Library is the recipient of a $2,996.00 State Board Programming Grant. Under the direction of Library Director Kay Cunningham, the grant will be used to digitize audio and video tapes, creating 116 digitized files, which will be made available online in a new digital collection. Funding from the grant comes from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and is administered through the Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Library News
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432