Library News

Welcome to the latest edition of The Same Page, Plough Library's newsletter! In it, you'll find our open house, database news, book recommendations, and librarian news!

Each year we encourage you to check the links for any library resources included in your courseware. This year, however, we have an entirely new proxy prefix, so all your URLs need to be updated. 

Our new prefix is: 

https://christianbros.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

For databases, you can grab the correct links from the Library’s A-Z list. For links within databases, on the other hand, you will need to make new permalinks. Some databases, e.g., Films on Demand, Academic Video Online, and SciTech Premium, already include our prefix in their permalinks, so you can just copy and paste them. Others, like the EBSCO databases, do not. For these permalinks, all you need to do is add our prefix yourself! Here are some examples:

https://christianbros.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=3024159&site=ehost-live&scope=site

https://christianbros.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsu&AN=177241587&site=ehost-live&scope=site

If you need help, come by the library and we’ll be glad to show you what to do. You can also send us your old URLs, and we’ll send replacements.

Plough Library provides complete access to The New York Times for all current students, faculty, and staff through a NYTimes.com Group Pass subscription. Individual registration is required. After registering your pass, you can go to NYTimes.com and have access from any location.

Steps to register for a NYTimes.com Pass:

1. Create a nytimes.com account.
2. When you see "Start Your Access", the expiration time and date of your pass will appear.
   • Faculty & Staff: Your NYTimes.com registration must be renewed every 4 years.To re-authenticate, go to accessnyt.com.
   • Students: When you register, you will be asked for your expected graduation year. Your access will expire on12/31 of your graduation year.
3. After you have a pass, you should go directly to NYTimes.com to access articles. We also recommend using the New York Times mobile apps.

NOTE: Some browsers do not work well with the pass registration process from off-campus. We recommend registering while on campus and using a desktop computer.

What's included?

The Group Pass gives you unlimited access to all content* on the NYTimes.com, including archived articles since 1851 with exception to those articles published between 1923 to 1980. However, each day of your pass, users may access up to 5 complimentary archived NYTimes.com articles published between the years 1923 through 1980.

(* Does not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content, or digital versions of The New York Times Crossword.)

Unlimited Access: articles from 1851-1922 and 1981-present
Limited Access (Up to 5 articles per day): articles from 1923-1980

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

Commercial Appeal online access has moved

CBU's online access to The Commercial Appeal has moved from NewsBank Access World News to The Commercial Appeal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) and now includes The Commercial Appeal's complete historical archive up to present, with a seven day delay for the most recent issues.

Along with The CA, we also now have historical and current access to the Knoxville News Sentinel and The Tennessean in Tennessee Newspapers (ProQuest). Search or browse full-text, full-image issues of these newspapers:

• The Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN) from 1841 to recent (7 days after content is published)
• Knoxville News Sentinel from 1841 to recent (7 days after content is published)
• Historic Nashville Tennessean from 1822-2002 and The Tennessean from 2010-present (2003-2009 is unavailable)

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition

Another new database we have is Newspapers.com Southeast Edition, which contains full-text, full-image issues of over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Statewide access to these new databases is provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) and the Tennessee State Library and Archives.

Nexis Uni is Plough Library's featured resource for April, providing access to over 17,000 full-text news, business and legal publications. (Long-time researchers will remember its previous name, LexisNexis Academic).

• Business: Get information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
• Law: Search extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Includes the Tennessee Code Annotated.
• News: Search print and online journals, newswires, blogs, and transcripts of television and radio broadcasts. Includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.

Make the Most of Nexis Uni

• Personalized Access: Create a free account to save articles and documents. You can also highlight and add your own annotations!
• Nexis Uni Tutorials: In these videos, learn tips and tricks to get better search results in Nexis Uni.

Our featured resource for February is Memphis Business Journal. CBU students, faculty, and staff now have unlimited access to read the latest breaking business news, industry analysis, and profiles of business leaders in Memphis. Our subscription includes local Business News throughout the Memphis metropolitan area, the MBJ Weekly Edition, Books of Lists, Local Search Archives, Back Issues from the past six years, and more.

How to Access: Create Your Free Membership (or Sign In if you already have a Business Journal password) for instant access with your cbu.edu email address. Registration requires the use of your cbu.edu email.

With NewsBank, you can read all kinds of daily and historic news from around the world, including:

• The Memphis Commercial Appeal,1990 - present
• Americas News Magazines
• Special Reports and Hot Topics
• Black Life in America, 1976 - present

NewsBank's Access World News collection offers a combination of global, regional and local news, from 12000+ news sources from all 50 states and beyond, including traditional newspapers, newswires, web news, television news transcripts, and more.

Use NewsBank to research current events and topics for assignments or to stay informed on the world around you.