Library News

Welcome to a new school year! We are excited to see everyone back on campus and to meet new members of the CBU community. Visit the library to check out our books!

Here are some books we've added to the collection so far in 2024, sorted by subject:

New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric 2024

New Titles in Technology, Art, History, Biography, and Geography 2024

New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Math 2024

New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion 2024

You can also check out our New and Popular Books shelves on the main floor at Plough Library, right across from the Library Service Desk.

Welcome back, Bucs!

We are delighted to see everyone back on campus and to welcome new members to our community. The library is air-conditioned and open for business. Come on in and check out our books!

Here are lists of the new print books we have added over the last few months, sorted by subject:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: April - June 2023

You can also go to our New and Popular Books subject guide, which features a small sample of the books you'll find on the library's New Books and Popular Books shelves on the main floor. But don't forget to stop by the library to explore all the other titles available to you. Also, keep an eye out for book displays on special topics. We look forward to seeing you!.

To support CBU's MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling degree program starting this fall, Plough Library has several new online resources available for students and faculty. In addition to APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles, we now have the following databases:

APA PsycBooks

New

APA PsycBooks® includes chapters from books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. Also contains classic books of historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

APA PsycTests

New

APA PsycTests® is a repository for psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. Also provides access to tests available in languages other than English. APA PsycTests® offers structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

PsychiatryOnline New

PsychiatryOnline Premium includes the DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry, as well as textbooks and these additional journals: Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News. The platform is searchable across all content and offers access to CME credits, current APA Practice guidelines, and medication information.

Plough Library also has new online subscriptions to these journals from University of Chicago Press:

• American Journal of Sociology (E-ISSN 1537-5390)
• Current Anthropology (E-ISSN: 1537-5382)

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

Our featured library resource for June is ACLS Humanities Ebook, also known as ACLS HEB, which offers a curated collection of 5800 ebooks selected by scholars for scholars. Find ebooks useful for your research or general interest in the areas of history, social sciences, religion, art & architecture, and more.

Features:

• Read ACLS HEB ebooks in your browser or download individual chapters for later reading
• Many titles include links to reviews of the book from academic journals
• Contains unique, out of print titles
• Available on or off campus to current CBU students, faculty, and staff

Here are just a few recent ebooks from ACLS HEB:

JSTOR is Unique

November's Database of the Month is JSTOR. This database is unique in that it contains journals from their very first issue up to 2-5 years ago. While It is not the place to search for breaking news and the latest research, JSTOR is a great source of scholarship on historical topics, literature and languages, religion, philosophy, social sciences, and more! JSTOR includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, and primary sources.

Fun fact: JSTOR stands for Journal Storage

"JSTOR was conceived in 1994 by William G. Bowen, then-president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to help university and college libraries provide adequate space for an ever-increasing amount of published scholarship. Bowen’s solution: convert printed scholarly journals into electronic form and store them in a centralized digital archive. Participating libraries and their institutions could free physical space, reduce capital and other costs associated with collection storage, and vastly improve access to scholarly research." Source: https://about.jstor.org/mission-history/.

Where can I find JSTOR?

Click on the Articles & Databases box on the Plough Library homepage and find it in the A-Z Databases list. In addition, many of the library's Subject Guides link to JSTOR.

Please note that CBU normally only has access to a subset of JSTOR's archive collections, specifically Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, and the Sustainability collection. Due to COVID-19, colleges and universities have special access to ALL of JSTOR's archive collections through June 30, 2022.