Library News

Welcome back, Bucs!

We are delighted to see everyone back on campus and to welcome new members to our community. The library is air-conditioned and open for business. Come on in and check out our books!

Here are lists of the new print books we have added over the last few months, sorted by subject:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: April - June 2023

You can also go to our New and Popular Books subject guide, which features a small sample of the books you'll find on the library's New Books and Popular Books shelves on the main floor. But don't forget to stop by the library to explore all the other titles available to you. Also, keep an eye out for book displays on special topics. We look forward to seeing you!.

Listen to the Brothers sing during one of the Tercentenary Concerts by Brother Vincent Malham and Brother Lawrence Walther.

Watch Brother Terence honor Allegra Turner with her Peace & Justice award.

See CBC Homecoming floats from 1966.

Hear the dedication ceremony for the Christian Brothers College historic marker on Adams Avenue.

These are just some of the 102 moving image and sound recordings now available in the Christian Brothers University History Collection - Audiovisual! Digitized in spring 2023 from items found in the Brother I. Leo O’Donnell Archives and posted online by Plough Library staff, these historic recordings include interviews, basketball games, award ceremonies, dedications, anniversary and presidential inauguration masses, gala events and recognition dinners, president's meetings and workshops, musical performances, and more.

This project was funded under a Federal Grant through the National Historical Publications & Records Commission, distributed through the Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board.

This November CBU celebrates its151st anniversary! To learn more about our history since 1871, check out the CBU History Collection, which contains a growing digital collection of images from CBU's Brother I. Leo O'Donnell Archives. The 1000+ images in the digital collection represent only a tiny percentage of what is held in the Archives, but you will find photos, documents, and objects from each decade of CBU's existence.

You can also find Memphis history within the collection, like this photo of a refugee camp from the time of the 1878 yellow fever epidemic.

In related news, Plough Library is the recipient of a $2,996.00 State Board Programming Grant. Under the direction of Library Director Kay Cunningham, the grant will be used to digitize audio and video tapes, creating 116 digitized files, which will be made available online in a new digital collection. Funding from the grant comes from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and is administered through the Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board.

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

Commercial Appeal online access has moved

CBU's online access to The Commercial Appeal has moved from NewsBank Access World News to The Commercial Appeal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) and now includes The Commercial Appeal's complete historical archive up to present, with a seven day delay for the most recent issues.

Along with The CA, we also now have historical and current access to the Knoxville News Sentinel and The Tennessean in Tennessee Newspapers (ProQuest). Search or browse full-text, full-image issues of these newspapers:

• The Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN) from 1841 to recent (7 days after content is published)
• Knoxville News Sentinel from 1841 to recent (7 days after content is published)
• Historic Nashville Tennessean from 1822-2002 and The Tennessean from 2010-present (2003-2009 is unavailable)

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition

Another new database we have is Newspapers.com Southeast Edition, which contains full-text, full-image issues of over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Statewide access to these new databases is provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) and the Tennessee State Library and Archives.

Our featured library resource for June is ACLS Humanities Ebook, also known as ACLS HEB, which offers a curated collection of 5800 ebooks selected by scholars for scholars. Find ebooks useful for your research or general interest in the areas of history, social sciences, religion, art & architecture, and more.

Features:

• Read ACLS HEB ebooks in your browser or download individual chapters for later reading
• Many titles include links to reviews of the book from academic journals
• Contains unique, out of print titles
• Available on or off campus to current CBU students, faculty, and staff

Here are just a few recent ebooks from ACLS HEB: