Library News

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

Nexis Uni is Plough Library's featured resource for April, providing access to over 17,000 full-text news, business and legal publications. (Long-time researchers will remember its previous name, LexisNexis Academic).

• Business: Get information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
• Law: Search extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Includes the Tennessee Code Annotated.
• News: Search print and online journals, newswires, blogs, and transcripts of television and radio broadcasts. Includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.

Make the Most of Nexis Uni

• Personalized Access: Create a free account to save articles and documents. You can also highlight and add your own annotations!
• Nexis Uni Tutorials: In these videos, learn tips and tricks to get better search results in Nexis Uni.

JSTOR is Unique

November's Database of the Month is JSTOR. This database is unique in that it contains journals from their very first issue up to 2-5 years ago. While It is not the place to search for breaking news and the latest research, JSTOR is a great source of scholarship on historical topics, literature and languages, religion, philosophy, social sciences, and more! JSTOR includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, and primary sources.

Fun fact: JSTOR stands for Journal Storage

"JSTOR was conceived in 1994 by William G. Bowen, then-president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to help university and college libraries provide adequate space for an ever-increasing amount of published scholarship. Bowen’s solution: convert printed scholarly journals into electronic form and store them in a centralized digital archive. Participating libraries and their institutions could free physical space, reduce capital and other costs associated with collection storage, and vastly improve access to scholarly research." Source: https://about.jstor.org/mission-history/.

Where can I find JSTOR?

Click on the Articles & Databases box on the Plough Library homepage and find it in the A-Z Databases list. In addition, many of the library's Subject Guides link to JSTOR.

Please note that CBU normally only has access to a subset of JSTOR's archive collections, specifically Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, and the Sustainability collection. Due to COVID-19, colleges and universities have special access to ALL of JSTOR's archive collections through June 30, 2022.