Library News

In the last several months, we at Plough have added heaps of new books to the library’s collection. As we now begin this slow turn to Fall—dusk arriving earlier each day, the summer heat waning, leaves beginning to drop, even the light changing—the memory and hope of coziness pervade. For me, this image of coziness always includes a book, so here you will find comprehensive and subject-specific lists of our collection’s new titles, ready to be checked out for your Fall research and reading.

These first lists of new books, linked below, include items that were acquired and added to Plough Library’s collection between April and June 2021. Newspapers, journals, and other serials are not included. 

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy and Psychology, and Religion
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric

In the coming weeks, I’ll publish the titles added in July through September, so be sure to check back, and, as always, please reach out if you have any questions or would like more information: library@cbu.edu.

Finally, in honor of Fall, Rainer Maria Rilke’s “Autumn Day,” pictured top right.

This month's featured database is Credo Reference. It is a great place to start when you need background information on topics for research papers or presentations.

What is Credo Reference?

Credo Reference is a vast, online reference library where you can find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. With regular updates, it includes over 3 million entries from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. In addition, you have access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.

Mind Maps Feature

Search results often include an interactive Mind Map. The Mind Map dynamically displays related subjects that you can click on to help brainstorm topics for your research.

Where can I find Credo Reference?

Click on the Articles & Databases box on the library's homepage and find it in the A-Z Databases list. In addition, many of the library's Subject Guides link to Credo Reference topic pages.

Try out Credo Reference today!