This month's featured database is Credo Reference. It is a great place to start when you need background information on topics for research papers or presentations.
What is Credo Reference?
Credo Reference is a vast, online reference library where you can find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles. With regular updates, it includes over 3 million entries from dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. In addition, you have access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
Mind Maps Feature
Search results often include an interactive Mind Map. The Mind Map dynamically displays related subjects that you can click on to help brainstorm topics for your research.
Where can I find Credo Reference?
Click on the Articles & Databases box on the library's homepage and find it in the A-Z Databases list. In addition, many of the library's Subject Guides link to Credo Reference topic pages.
Try out Credo Reference today!
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) - New & Improved
Are you curious about the origins of words in English? Plough Library has an online subscription to the definitive dictionary of the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary (OED). Along with present-day definitions, the OED provides the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
In mid-July, the OED got a whole new look and improved functionality. If you've used it before, be sure to check it now and see how much easier it is to find what you need.
Learn to use the OED:
The history of the OED itself is pretty fascinating. Plough Library has two books about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary if you want to check them out and learn more!
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login to Research GuidesLogin is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.