Library News

Welcome back, Bucs!

We are delighted to see everyone back on campus and to welcome new members to our community. The library is air-conditioned and open for business. Come on in and check out our books!

Here are lists of the new print books we have added over the last few months, sorted by subject:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: April - June 2023

You can also go to our New and Popular Books subject guide, which features a small sample of the books you'll find on the library's New Books and Popular Books shelves on the main floor. But don't forget to stop by the library to explore all the other titles available to you. Also, keep an eye out for book displays on special topics. We look forward to seeing you!.

Covering all major scientific disciplines AccessScience is our Featured Resource for October. If you need authoritative science reference and help, new and improved AccessScience is the place to start!

You will find:

• Topic pages for Agriculture, Forestry, & Soils; Anthropology & Archeology; Astronomy & Space Science; Biology; Chemistry; Computing & Information Technology ; Earth Science; Ecology & Environmental Science; Engineering & Materials; Forensic Science; Mathematics; Medicine & Health Sciences; Paleontology; Physics; and Psychiatry & Psychology.
• 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
• 20 upper-level science books and Schaum's Outlines for math and science courses
• 20,000+ images, videos, and animations illustrating key concepts -- including worked solutions to math and science problems
• Video and text biographies highlighting the life and work of award-winning scientists

The Schaum's Outlines in AccessScience include: Organic Chemistry, College Algebra, Electromagnetics, Applied Physics, Calculus, Statistics, College Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Physics for Engineering & Science.

If you need help or have any questions about science resources, contact School of Sciences liaison Kay Cunningham.

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!

For March, we're featuring Plough Library's most comprehensive science and technology database, SciTech Premium Collection from ProQuest. Do you need articles for a science or engineering assignment? Are you a faculty member doing research in your field? This database is the first place to search for articles on science and technology topics from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

SciTech Premium Collection covers all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, sustainability, and much more.

If you want to perform a narrower search within a certain subject area, available sub-collections include:

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Biological Sciences Collection
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
Materials Science and Engineering Collection

JSTOR is Unique

November's Database of the Month is JSTOR. This database is unique in that it contains journals from their very first issue up to 2-5 years ago. While It is not the place to search for breaking news and the latest research, JSTOR is a great source of scholarship on historical topics, literature and languages, religion, philosophy, social sciences, and more! JSTOR includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, and primary sources.

Fun fact: JSTOR stands for Journal Storage

"JSTOR was conceived in 1994 by William G. Bowen, then-president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to help university and college libraries provide adequate space for an ever-increasing amount of published scholarship. Bowen’s solution: convert printed scholarly journals into electronic form and store them in a centralized digital archive. Participating libraries and their institutions could free physical space, reduce capital and other costs associated with collection storage, and vastly improve access to scholarly research." Source: https://about.jstor.org/mission-history/.

Where can I find JSTOR?

Click on the Articles & Databases box on the Plough Library homepage and find it in the A-Z Databases list. In addition, many of the library's Subject Guides link to JSTOR.

Please note that CBU normally only has access to a subset of JSTOR's archive collections, specifically Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, and the Sustainability collection. Due to COVID-19, colleges and universities have special access to ALL of JSTOR's archive collections through June 30, 2022.