Skip to Main Content
Search the Library
Find books, articles, and more in
Find art images:
Websites offering free art images:
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
A free-use image resource for the educational community arranged by art historical period and keyed to major art historical textbooks, i.e. Janson, Gardner, Hartt.
Art Project (powered by Google)
Virtually enter major museums and see art as displayed. Zoom in to view works in incredible detail. Museums include the Freer, the Frick, MoMA, London's National Gallery, Versailles, the Hermitage, the Tate, the Metropolitan, the Rijksmuseum, and more.
Artstor (Public Collections)
Find freely available art and images from Artstor Public Collections. Includes fine art, photographs, posters, advertising, and more.
Frick Digital Images Archive
View more than a million photographs of works of art from the Frick Photoarchive.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
Explore over 400,000 works of art from the Museum's encyclopedic collection.
Limited non-commercial use. For details, see Terms and Conditions
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
MoMA’s online collection includes many artists and objects from MoMA’s departments of Architecture and Design, Drawings, Painting and Sculpture, Photography, Prints and Illustrated Books, Film, and Media and Performance Art.
World Art Treasures
Jacques-Édouard Berger (J.E. Berger) Foundation owns and manages a photographic archive of around 100,000 slides - a treasure trove of memories from cultural journeys undertaken between the 1970s and the 1990s - as well as a media collection with around 150 hours of audio recordings. A very large proportion of the photo collection can be accessed online.