Research Guides: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: English Dictionaries and Thesauri

Search the Library

Find books, articles, and more in
WorldCat Discovery:

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language includes words from the earliest records of written language to present day. Entries include dated quotations from English language, history, literature, and records and facts concerning word forms, changes, and etymology. Now includes the Historical Thesaurus of the OED.

Credo Reference - Dictionaries and Thesauri
Credo offers many English language dictionaries, including titles with definitions of abbreviations, slang, law, business, and scientific terms.
Oxford Reference - English Dictionaries and Thesauri
Oxford Reference offers several English language dictionaries, including titles with definitions of Australian, New Zealand, and Canadian vocabulary.

Right, Wrong, and Risky: a dictionary of today's American English usage by Mark Davidson Right, Wrong, and Risky provides simple, direct answers to questions about word choice, spelling, grammar, and punctuation; in straightforward alphabetical order.
Call Number: 423 D38 2006
ISBN: 0393061191
Publication Date: 2005
Paperback Oxford English Dictionary by Catherine Soanes; Sara Hawker; Julia Elliott This is a new and fully updated edition of the Paperback Oxford English Dictionary, offering over 120,000 words, phrases, and definitions. It covers all the words you need for everyday use, carefully selected from the evidence of the Oxford English Corpus, a databank of 21st century English, containing hundreds of millions of words.
Call Number: 423 P37 2006
ISBN: 0198614241
Publication Date: 2006
The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English by Tom Dalzell (Editor) (EBSCO eBook -- also available in Circulating Collection) Entries are accompanied by citations that authenticate the words as well as offer examples of usage from popular literature, newspapers, magazines, movies, television shows, musical lyrics, and Internet user groups. Etymology, cultural context, country of origin and the date the word was first used are also provided.
Call Number: 427 R68 2009
ISBN: 9780415371827