Skip to Main Content
Search the Library
Find books, articles, and more in
Get Background Information & Definitions of Terms
Get background information to start your research on nearly any topic, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Search general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries (including bilingual and biographical dictionaries), thesauri, and books of quotations.
Full text of over 300 language and subject dictionaries and reference works. Includes general reference sources on language, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences, and business topics.
Usage Note: Licensed for only 1 user at a time.
Also try these:
Search for definitions and background information on science topics from The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Now includes current news about relevant concepts in science and technology; text and video biographies of well-known scientific figures; images, videos, and animations illustrating key concepts, nine textbooks, and 11 Schaum's Outlines.
EBSCO eBooks: Reference
EBSCO eBooks contains over 3000 searchable reference books. Find definitions of terms, background information, and more on a wide variety of topics.
Searchable full text of encyclopedias and reference books in subjects including business, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, and science. Includes the New Catholic Encyclopedia and supplements.
Provided by TEL with additional ebook titles purchased by Plough Library.
Search more reference databases...