Research Guides: Engineering Management: Data Analytics

Free or Open Access Resources for Data Science

There is a growing body of learning and reference material for learning the tools and principles of data science--probability, visualization, and coding in Python and R. The following is a sampling of material that has been made freely available by the author. In many cases, a physical copy of the book is also available for purchase.

Python for Everybody
A textbook and other courseware by Charles Severance, introducing Python to new programmers with a focus on data science applications.
R for Data Science
By Garrett Grolemund and Hadley Wickham, the latter of which hosts an electronic copy of this book under a Creative Commons license. Meant for programmers with an R background.
Probability and Statistics: The Science of Uncertainty
A now out-of-print book made freely available by the author. A very broad introduction; includes significant material on Bayesian methods.
O'Reilly Free Data Ebooks
O'Reilly Publishing, one of the major math and computer book publishers, has made some of its material relating to data science free to download.
Open Data Sets by Topic
A subject guide created at the SUNY-Geneseo Library, collecting free and open access datasets across the internet, with advice for finding more.

Other Resources from Computer Science

Get started:

AccessScience Topic Page: Computing & Information Technology
Get definitions of terms from every area of computer science.

Find articles and more:

SciTech Premium Collection
Contains thousands of full-text titles covering natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video, and more. Dates: 1946 - present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate from EBSCO offers academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
AccessEngineering
Search hundreds of engineering books, including Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain. Includes videos, DataVis Material Properties, and spreadsheet calculators.
Knovel
Search ebooks in Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; and General Engineering & Project Administration. Includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations, and interactive graphs and tables.
Help Pages:
- Support Center

Search more science & technology databases...

CiteSeerX
CiteSeerX is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that is primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Computing Research Repository
Free online repository of papers in computer science.
swMath
Search engine for mathematical software, with supporting bibliographic references.
WolframAlpha - Web & Computer Systems
Get information about IP addresses and URLs; convert between hex, decimal, octal, and binary; look up UNICODE characters, and more. (TIP: anywhere you see a >>, click for more examples.)