Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright

#copyright #fairuse

Instead of giving out copies of articles or posting the full-text online, we recommend creating copyright-friendly links to your course readings, using material available in Plough Library's electronic resources.

License Agreements

The license agreements that CBU enters into with database vendors determines the use you can make of articles and materials delivered on their platforms:

  • Material found in databases that is otherwise subject to copyright may already be cleared for classroom use by the database/license.
  • A few journals (Harvard Business Review, for example) do not allow linking regardless of the database in which they are found. Pay attention to the copyright notice that accompanies each article you want to use.

Copyright-Friendly Course Reading Links

Tips
  • Many databases provide direct links to items, aka stable URLs, persistent links, or permalinks. Use these as shortcuts to articles.
  • Not all databases provide full text, and not all full text databases provide stable URLs.
  • Check your links before each term to make sure they still work--especially if you use streaming videos. Videos are the most likely resources to change, though journal articles can change too.
Off-Campus Access
  • The stable URLs in some databases will not work from off-campus unless you edit them.
  • Edit by adding the library's off-campus proxy prefix before the stable URL:
    http://libproxy.cbu.edu/login?url=
  • The stable URL should come behind the equal sign without any break or spacing.
    For example: https://libproxy.cbu.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41388926

NOTE: Most of our databases are already configured to include the library's proxy prefix in their stable URLs.

Formatting
  • Hide a long URL by hyperlinking selected text, such as the title, to give the page a cleaner appearance.
  • If you create your reading list in Microsoft Word, save the file as a Web Page, or in HTML format. The web page can then be loaded into Canvas for students to access. (Web pages are recommended because linked Word documents (.doc format) do not work consistently when remote access is involved.)

Plough Library · Christian Brothers University
Library Hours

650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432