A library of e-learning content with assessment tools to measure and report on student learning outcomes. They are aligned to information literacy lessons with general education classes, first-year experience, and student success initiatives.
With videos, tutorials, and quizzes, these modules are ideal for supplementing existing lessons, for “one-shot” instructional sessions, and for addressing gaps in classroom or online teaching.
Dee Fink poses a fundamental question for all teachers: "How can I create courses that will provide significant learning experiences for my students?" In the process of addressing this question, he urges teachers to shift from a content-centered approach to a learning-centered approach that asks "What kinds of learning will be significant for students, and how can I create a course that will result in that kind of learning?" Fink provides several conceptual and procedural tools that will be invaluable for all teachers when designing instruction. He takes important existing ideas in the literature on college teaching (active learning, educative assessment), adds some new ideas (a taxonomy of significant learning, the concept of a teaching strategy), and shows how to systematically combine these in a way that results in powerful learning experiences for students. Acquiring a deeper understanding of the design process will empower teachers to creatively design courses for significant learning in a variety of situations.
A learning outcome is a collection of words, pictures or diagrams intended to let others know what you
intend for your students to achieve.
- It is related to intended results rather than the process for achieving those results.
- It is specific and measurable, rather than broad and intangible.
- It is concerned with what students need to know, or do, or feel not with what teachers need to
know, or do, or feel.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) indexes and abstracts materials in education and related fields. Includes document and article citations from over 1000 professional journals and ERIC digest full text records. Also includes full-text from 84 journals and most ERIC documents from 1993 to the present.
Dates: 1966 - present.
Search academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR contains full-text access of the full backfiles of subscribed journals. (CBU subscribes to Arts & Sciences collections I-IV and VII, and the Sustainability collection.) U.S. articles published before 1923 are freely available regardless of subscription. Current or recent articles typically not available.
Dates: Up to most recent 2-5 years