Library News

Join Plough Library for another event in our Library Speaker Series! Library Director Kay Cunningham will present "College to University: Christian Brothers and Its Students." Join Kay on Wednesday, April 6 at 4:00-4:30pm on WebEx as she shows some of the history of CBU from the library's archives.

The Library Speaker Series gives CBU faculty and staff a chance to share topics that they are passionate about and enjoy.

Nexis Uni is Plough Library's featured resource for April, providing access to over 17,000 full-text news, business and legal publications. (Long-time researchers will remember its previous name, LexisNexis Academic).

• Business: Get information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
• Law: Search extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Includes the Tennessee Code Annotated.
• News: Search print and online journals, newswires, blogs, and transcripts of television and radio broadcasts. Includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.

Make the Most of Nexis Uni

• Personalized Access: Create a free account to save articles and documents. You can also highlight and add your own annotations!
• Nexis Uni Tutorials: In these videos, learn tips and tricks to get better search results in Nexis Uni.

Join Plough Library for our first Library Speaker Series of the semester on Wednesday, March 23 at 4:00-4:30pm on WebEx! Mark Duncan, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, will share about NASA's Liberty Bell 7 mission, which was America's second human spaceflight.

The Library Speaker Series gives CBU faculty and staff a chance to share topics about which they are passionate and that they enjoy.

For March, we're featuring Plough Library's most comprehensive science and technology database, SciTech Premium Collection from ProQuest. Do you need articles for a science or engineering assignment? Are you a faculty member doing research in your field? This database is the first place to search for articles on science and technology topics from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

SciTech Premium Collection covers all the sciences, engineering, forestry, geography, homeland security and terrorism, International relations, mathematics, military and defense, public health and safety, sustainability, and much more.

If you want to perform a narrower search within a certain subject area, available sub-collections include:

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Biological Sciences Collection
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
Materials Science and Engineering Collection