Library News

Attention Engineering Students & Faculty! Did you know Plough Library has two excellent engineering reference databases for you to use? They are AccessEngineering and Knovel. To make the most of your engineering studies and teaching at CBU, we recommend that you familiarize yourself with both of these databases. Contact the library if you have any questions!

AccessEngineering (from McGraw-Hill)

AccessEngineering contains hundreds of recent engineering textbooks and widely-used engineering reference handbooks and manuals, including latest editions of classics like Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum’s Outlines. AccessEngineering also has a robust set of interactive data tools, including instructional videos, DataVis Material Properties, and spreadsheet calculators. Use the AccessEngineering search box to discover results from multiple textbook and reference sources on any engineering topic.

Need help getting started? Check out these guides and videos:

• AccessEngineering Quick Start Guide (PDF) & Brief Overview of AccessEngineering (YouTube)
• Access Engineering User Guide
• DataVis User Guide (PDF) & DataVis Tutorial (Youtube)

Knovel

Knovel offers technical reference ebooks in these subject collections: Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; and General Engineering & Project Administration. Its special features include material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations targeted for specific industries and engineering disciplines. The numeric range and multi-variable search helps users find and solve complex problems quickly using thousands of interactive tables, graphs, and equations.

Need help getting started? Check out these guides and videos:

• Knovel Quick Start Guide (PDF)
• Video tutorial: Knovel Overview
• Additional Knovel Tutorials - includes how-to videos on Material Properties search, Interactive Equations, and more.

Our featured resource for September is actually two resources: Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Each database includes thousands of streaming videos -- mostly documentaries, educational films, performances, independent films, and archival news content. Long films are broken down into short sections, so you can watch just the parts you need for your research, and most films include full transcripts. All films include preformatted citations. Faculty can link to or embed these films in Canvas for their classes (contact Deborah Babb if you need assistance.).

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street  Video)   - Includes over 79,000 streaming video titles covering subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Register a free account to clip custom video segments to save and share.

• Helpful tips: Academic Video Online: Platform Overview; Academic Video Online: Video Player Key Features
• Selected new videos from Academic Video Online:
  • Plague at the Golden Gate (PBS - American Experience, 2022)
  • Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America (Sony Pictures Classics, 2021)
  • High-Risk High-Rise (PBS - Nova, 2022)

Films on Demand (Infobase) - View over 40,000 streaming videos in dozens of academic subject areas. Most videos are divided into segments and include transcripts. Sign up for a free account to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.

• Selected new videos from Films on Demand:
  • Frederick Douglass: In Five Speeches (HBO, 2022)
  • Police on Trial (PBS - Frontline, 2022)
  • Undercurrent: The Disappearance of Kim Wall (HBO, 2022)

These databases may be used by current CBU students, faculty, and staff. Contact the library at library@cbu.edu or call 901-321-3432 if you have any questions. Happy viewing!