Library News

Welcome back, Bucs!

We are delighted to see everyone back on campus and to welcome new members to our community. The library is air-conditioned and open for business. Come on in and check out our books!

Here are lists of the new print books we have added over the last few months, sorted by subject:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: April - June 2023

You can also go to our New and Popular Books subject guide, which features a small sample of the books you'll find on the library's New Books and Popular Books shelves on the main floor. But don't forget to stop by the library to explore all the other titles available to you. Also, keep an eye out for book displays on special topics. We look forward to seeing you!.

Listen to the Brothers sing during one of the Tercentenary Concerts by Brother Vincent Malham and Brother Lawrence Walther.

Watch Brother Terence honor Allegra Turner with her Peace & Justice award.

See CBC Homecoming floats from 1966.

Hear the dedication ceremony for the Christian Brothers College historic marker on Adams Avenue.

These are just some of the 102 moving image and sound recordings now available in the Christian Brothers University History Collection - Audiovisual! Digitized in spring 2023 from items found in the Brother I. Leo O’Donnell Archives and posted online by Plough Library staff, these historic recordings include interviews, basketball games, award ceremonies, dedications, anniversary and presidential inauguration masses, gala events and recognition dinners, president's meetings and workshops, musical performances, and more.

This project was funded under a Federal Grant through the National Historical Publications & Records Commission, distributed through the Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board.

To support CBU's MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling degree program starting this fall, Plough Library has several new online resources available for students and faculty. In addition to APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles, we now have the following databases:

APA PsycBooks

New

APA PsycBooks® includes chapters from books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. Also contains classic books of historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

APA PsycTests

New

APA PsycTests® is a repository for psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. Also provides access to tests available in languages other than English. APA PsycTests® offers structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

PsychiatryOnline New

PsychiatryOnline Premium includes the DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry, as well as textbooks and these additional journals: Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News. The platform is searchable across all content and offers access to CME credits, current APA Practice guidelines, and medication information.

Plough Library also has new online subscriptions to these journals from University of Chicago Press:

• American Journal of Sociology (E-ISSN 1537-5390)
• Current Anthropology (E-ISSN: 1537-5382)