Library News

Attention Engineering Students & Faculty! Did you know Plough Library has two excellent engineering reference databases for you to use? They are AccessEngineering and Knovel. To make the most of your engineering studies and teaching at CBU, we recommend that you familiarize yourself with both of these databases. Contact the library if you have any questions!

AccessEngineering (from McGraw-Hill)

AccessEngineering contains hundreds of recent engineering textbooks and widely-used engineering reference handbooks and manuals, including latest editions of classics like Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum’s Outlines. AccessEngineering also has a robust set of interactive data tools, including instructional videos, DataVis Material Properties, and spreadsheet calculators. Use the AccessEngineering search box to discover results from multiple textbook and reference sources on any engineering topic.

Need help getting started? Check out these guides and videos:

• AccessEngineering Quick Start Guide (PDF) & Brief Overview of AccessEngineering (YouTube)
• Access Engineering User Guide
• DataVis User Guide (PDF) & DataVis Tutorial (Youtube)

Knovel

Knovel offers technical reference ebooks in these subject collections: Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; and General Engineering & Project Administration. Its special features include material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations targeted for specific industries and engineering disciplines. The numeric range and multi-variable search helps users find and solve complex problems quickly using thousands of interactive tables, graphs, and equations.

Need help getting started? Check out these guides and videos:

• Knovel Quick Start Guide (PDF)
• Video tutorial: Knovel Overview
• Additional Knovel Tutorials - includes how-to videos on Material Properties search, Interactive Equations, and more.

Join Plough Library for the Library Speaker Symposium on Wednesday, March 22 in Plough Library's InfoLab! We have three speakers lined up to talk about some interesting topics. Refreshments provided. You can also join from online using the Microsoft Teams link provided on the CBU Events page.

The following speakers from various CBU departments will present on Wednesday, March 22:

• 1:00-1:30pm - Kay Cunningham, Director, Plough Library and the Brother I. Leo O'Donnell Archives - "Superman and Media"
  • Superman may have started in the comic books, but his other media appearances--radio, animation, movies--pulled concepts from the comics and fed back into them. Find out if what you think you know about the Man of Steel is so.

• 1:30-2:00pm - Brother Alan Parham, Campus Minister, Campus Ministry - "Vocation to Ministry"
  • Ministry is a broad term, but many experience it as a call rather than just a career decision. This session will focus on how we at a Lasallian institution can better discern that call.

• 2:00-2:30pm - Dr. Pong Malasri - Packaging Initiatives Coordinator, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Department of Packaging - "Recruiting the Gen Zers"
  • This presentation will discuss a three-pronged approach in recruiting a new generation of true digital natives, who do not know a world without smartphones and do not distinguish between physical and digital worlds.