Library News

UPDATE: Access has been restored to most of Plough Library's online resources, including databases, ebooks, and ejournals. If you experience any further access issues, please contact Kay Cunningham at 901-321-3430 or kay.cunningham@cbu.edu.

Due to unforeseen events, most of the library's online resources are temporarily unavailable, both on and off campus. We apologize for any inconvenience.

The Same Page, the official newsletter of Plough Library, is back with our first issue since fall 2019! We invite you to read it online (it's a PDF) and see what's new, as well as services and resources you may have forgotten we offer.

In this issue:

• From the Director                          
• What Do You Love about the Library?
• Relax at the Library
• Group Study Rooms
• Start Growing with the CBU Seed Library
• The New York Times
• Memphis Business Journal
• Library Staff News
• Refworks is Leaving June 30th
• March Madness of Books
• Instruction Services
• Electronic Resources Updates
• Beverly & Sam Ross Gallery
• From the Br. I. Leo O’Donnell Archives
• Explore the Library!
• Check Out These Books

UPDATE: The north stairwell is now open, as is the northwest corner of the top floor. You can now go up and down those stairs and browse all of the bookshelves upstairs.

Plough Library is getting a new air conditioning system installed. While work is completed, you may notice some loud noises as well as a lack of heat and A/C. Thank you for your patience!

Did you know Plough Library has two group study rooms in the northwest corner of the main floor?

These rooms are designated to support CBU students in their academic work. If not reserved, students may use a group study room but must share it with others who also wish to study.

Each room comes equipped with:

• Floor-to-ceiling whiteboard wall
  • Check out dry erase markers and an eraser from the Library Service Desk.
• Wall-mounted computer and monitor
  • Check out a bag that comes with a keyboard, mouse, and remote from the Library Service Desk.

Group Study Room Reservations

CBU students may request a group study room reservation from library staff for groups of 4 or more people for 2 hours maximum per day.

The library hopes to have an interactive online reservation system up and running by fall 2024. For now, reservation requests may be made at the Library Service Desk, by chat (available through the library homepage), by phone at (901) 321-3432, or by email at library@cbu.edu.

Please Note: We ask that you not bring any food into the group study rooms. Thank you!

CBU's subscription to RefWorks will end on June 30, 2024.

If you have references in RefWorks that you wish to save, you will need to transfer your sources out of RefWorks by June 30, 2024.  It is easy to export collections into any other citation manager. Free citation managers include Zotero and Mendeley.  Zotero is the citation manager that Plough Library will use going forward.

Using Zotero: This page from Plough Library's Citing Sources guide has more details on how Zotero works.

If you have questions about transferring sources out of RefWorks into another citation manager, please contact Kay Cunningham, Library Director, at kay.cunningham@cbu.edu.

Do you have a garden and want to plant some vegetable or flower seeds? CBU students, faculty, staff, and alumni can now get free seeds at the CBU Seed Library. Located on the main floor of Plough Library in a vintage card catalog cabinet, these seeds are free to take and use. Take what you need, and after your harvest, you can save seeds from your yield (if possible), or donate different seeds to keep the exchange going. Simply complete the online form to let us know which seeds you take — and start planting!

We currently have the following seeds: Arugula, Coriander, Cosmos (mixed variety), Cucumber (Marketmore 76), Dill, Green Beans, Marigold (large yellow), Oregano, Parsley (flat leaf), Radish (Nelson), Watermelon (Moon & Stars), and Zinnia (mixed and Benary's Giant).

CBU Seed Library Form

Use this form to record your seed checkouts, donations, or what you pledge to return at the end of the growing season.

About the CBU Seed Library

Launched in fall 2023, the CBU Seed Library is a partnership between the CBU Community Garden, the Student Sustainability Coalition, and Plough Library. Seeds are generously supplied by Alpha Omega Veterans Services Urban Farm & Garden.

Plough Library provides complete access to The New York Times for all current students, faculty, and staff through a NYTimes.com Group Pass subscription. Individual registration is required. After registering your pass, you can go to NYTimes.com and have access from any location.

Steps to register for a NYTimes.com Pass:

1. Create a nytimes.com account.
2. When you see "Start Your Access", the expiration time and date of your pass will appear.
   • Faculty & Staff: Your NYTimes.com registration must be renewed every 4 years.To re-authenticate, go to accessnyt.com.
   • Students: When you register, you will be asked for your expected graduation year. Your access will expire on12/31 of your graduation year.
3. After you have a pass, you should go directly to NYTimes.com to access articles. We also recommend using the New York Times mobile apps.

NOTE: Some browsers do not work well with the pass registration process from off-campus. We recommend registering while on campus and using a desktop computer.

What's included?

The Group Pass gives you unlimited access to all content* on the NYTimes.com, including archived articles since 1851 with exception to those articles published between 1923 to 1980. However, each day of your pass, users may access up to 5 complimentary archived NYTimes.com articles published between the years 1923 through 1980.

(* Does not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content, or digital versions of The New York Times Crossword.)

Unlimited Access: articles from 1851-1922 and 1981-present
Limited Access (Up to 5 articles per day): articles from 1923-1980

Welcome back, Bucs!

We are delighted to see everyone back on campus and to welcome new members to our community. The library is air-conditioned and open for business. Come on in and check out our books!

Here are lists of the new print books we have added over the last few months, sorted by subject:

• New Titles in General Works, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Social Sciences, Language, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Technology, the Arts, History, Biography, and Geography: April - June 2023
• New Titles in Literature and Rhetoric: April - June 2023

You can also go to our New and Popular Books subject guide, which features a small sample of the books you'll find on the library's New Books and Popular Books shelves on the main floor. But don't forget to stop by the library to explore all the other titles available to you. Also, keep an eye out for book displays on special topics. We look forward to seeing you!.

Listen to the Brothers sing during one of the Tercentenary Concerts by Brother Vincent Malham and Brother Lawrence Walther.

Watch Brother Terence honor Allegra Turner with her Peace & Justice award.

See CBC Homecoming floats from 1966.

Hear the dedication ceremony for the Christian Brothers College historic marker on Adams Avenue.

These are just some of the 102 moving image and sound recordings now available in the Christian Brothers University History Collection - Audiovisual! Digitized in spring 2023 from items found in the Brother I. Leo O’Donnell Archives and posted online by Plough Library staff, these historic recordings include interviews, basketball games, award ceremonies, dedications, anniversary and presidential inauguration masses, gala events and recognition dinners, president's meetings and workshops, musical performances, and more.

This project was funded under a Federal Grant through the National Historical Publications & Records Commission, distributed through the Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board.

To support CBU's MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling degree program starting this fall, Plough Library has several new online resources available for students and faculty. In addition to APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles, we now have the following databases:

APA PsycBooks

New

APA PsycBooks® includes chapters from books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. Also contains classic books of historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

APA PsycTests

New

APA PsycTests® is a repository for psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. Also provides access to tests available in languages other than English. APA PsycTests® offers structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

PsychiatryOnline New

PsychiatryOnline Premium includes the DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry, as well as textbooks and these additional journals: Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News. The platform is searchable across all content and offers access to CME credits, current APA Practice guidelines, and medication information.

Plough Library also has new online subscriptions to these journals from University of Chicago Press:

• American Journal of Sociology (E-ISSN 1537-5390)
• Current Anthropology (E-ISSN: 1537-5382)