These are just a few of the many sources we have on African American literature:
African-American Poets: Volume 1, 1700s-1940s by
(EBSCO eBook) Presents a collection of critical essays on the works of the African American poets Robert Hayden, Gwendolyn Brooks, Jean Toomer, Claude McKay, Langston Hughes, Paul Laurence Dunbar, James Weldon Johnson and Alice Dunbar-Nelson.
African-American Poets: Volume 2, 1950s to the Present by
(EBSCO eBook) Presents a collection of critical essays on the works of African American poets of the late twentieth century to the newly established and emerging voices of today, including, Maya Angelou, Lucille Clifton, Rita Dove, and more.
The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing by
(Credo eBook) The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers by
(EBSCO eBook) This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by
In the decades of the 1920s and 1930s in Harlem, New York City, there developed a unique awakening of mind and spirit, of race conciousness and artistic advancement. This declaration of African-American independence became known as the Harlem Renaissance and this is a study of the era.
Writing African American Women by
This A-to-Z encyclopedia is the first to focus specifically on feminist and womanist approaches to African American literature. Approximately 400 entries cover writers (e.g., Octavia Butler, Angela Jackson), written works (e.g., Beloved, Kindred), and themes addressed in writings of interest to an understanding of African American women and their depiction in literature (e.g., beauty, film, slavery).
650 E Parkway S, Memphis, TN 38117 · (901) 321-3432