Research Guides: History: Home

Guide to History Research

Welcome to the History Research Guide! The information here will help direct you to key resources, important databases, and helpful reference works for your research.

How to Research a Topic

Just getting started?

Don't forget to check out our How to Research a Topic Guide to assist you with the research process.

Key Resources

Credo Reference Get background information to start your research on nearly any topic, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Search general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries (including bilingual and biographical dictionaries), thesauri, and books of quotations.

Find articles and ebooks on history topics in these databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate from EBSCO offers academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)
ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB) is an ebook collection of over 5,900 titles in the humanities and related social sciences. The included itles are curated by scholars and learned societies and include many prize-winning works.
EBSCO eBooks
Over 300,000 ebook titles in all academic subject areas. Includes scholarly reference and professional works from leading university, academic, and professional publishers. Downloading is not required to view ebooks.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. Includes content digitized as part of the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized by member libraries. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains the full backfiles of journals from their first issue up to the most recent 2 - 6 years. Current or recent articles are not available. U.S. articles published before 1923 are freely available regardless of subscription. CBU subscribes to JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection.
JSTOR Primary Sources
JSTOR Primary Sources collections include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Offers select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.

See more history databases...

Featured Resource

JSTOR - Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from various special collections. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

History

Search the Library

Subject Librarian

Guide to History Research

How to Research a Topic

Key Resources

Featured Resource